Views
Helpful
Replies

CISCO RV180 - Site to Site Basic Steps

Slava Zhilov
Level 1
Level 1

Good day!

May I ask about basic steps of creating a VPN tunnel between two CISCO RV180 routers. I'm trying to connect two remote local networks located in two different cities. Network A has a webserver which could be accessed only locally. I would like Network B users access to that server. Can the RV180 router located at Network B be a VPN clinet for RV180 located at Network A? Or they both should be gateways? If Network B has no external IP adress is that a problem? Do I need to create users for that connection or only IKE and VPN policy?

3 Accepted Solutions

Accepted Solutions

Eric Moyers
Level 7
Level 7

Hi, My name is Eric Moyers. I am a Network Support Engineer in the Cisco Small Business Support Center. Thank you for using the Cisco Community Post Forums.

This is a comon question. Here is a document that should assist you in configuring the tunnel.

For best results I would use both routers as Gateways and both need to have external IPs. If you do a VPN tunnel between the two RV180s, you do not have to create users. Just the policies.

Please let me know how you do.

Thanks

Eric Moyers    .:|:.:|:.

Cisco Small Business US STAC Advanced Support Engineer

Wireless Subject Matter Expert

CCNA, CCNA-Wireless

*Please rate the Post so other will know when an answer has been found.

View solution in original post

Slava,

You can enable Split DNS in the tunnel settings. (VPN Policy) From the Help file on that page:

1. In the Split DNS section, check the Enable box to allow the Cisco RV180/RV180W to find the DNS server of the remote router without going through the ISP (Internet). Otherwise, uncheck the box to disable this feature. If you enable Split DNS, also enter these settings:
    • Domain Name Server 1—Enter a Domain Name server IP address to resolve the domain that you enter in the Domain Name 1 field.