cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

RV042+barracuda

arnetcs2011
Level 1
Level 1

I have been running a email/web/ftp server on one server for 9 years. I have currently acquired a Barracuda spam 300. I cant get the emails to go thru the barracuda first. Here is how it is setup:

my email and web come in thru one outside address..call it 166.5.5.5

I have a 1 to 1 nat for 166.5.5.5 to 10.0.0.2 (email/web/ftp server)

ports 25 and 53 are forwarded to the 10.0.0.4 (barracuda) then out on 25 to my 10.0.0.2

no emails go thru as long as it is set this way

I can nat the 166.5.5.5 to the barracuda first and emails go thru, but I lose my web and ftp

will this router work for me? I was told that i needed to change mx records for email to 166.5.5.6 and then forward nat on that address to the barracuda. I dont really want to change mx records for 10-12 email domains.

please help!

9 Replies 9

Te-Kai Liu
Level 7
Level 7

(I do not have experience with Barracuda.)

It sounds like you have a single server hosting email, web, and ftp in the LAN of RV042.

Normally you would forward email/web/ftp traffic to this server (10.0.0.2).

Now you want the email traffic go through a spam filter (Barracuda at 10.0.0.4) first and feed the filtered traffic to the above server.

It would appear that Barracuda should have some configration setting that allows you to specify the email server IP address (10.0.0.2) and port number (25).

rmanthey
Level 4
Level 4

Hello Leslie,

Is the 166.5.5.5 your wan1 ip address? or is this address a second public ip your ISP gave you?

What is your MX record set to? what public IP address? I assume it is the 166 address.

On the Barracuda you will need to set it up to forward the email once scanned to the internal exchange server, then on the exchange server you will need to setup a Smart Host and point it to your barracuda to scan outgoing smtp traffic.

Randy Manthey

Cisco Small Business Support Center