cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

RV042 & E4200

dhbosboom
Level 1
Level 1

Good evening everyone!  I'm new to this discussion page but I have a problem that needs to be resolved.  Because I cannot lose my internet connection (I use it for phone service as well as updating my websites) I opted to use Cisco RV042 router.  I had no problems setting it up for my cable broadband or my (older) DSL service.  But a totally wired-in service prevented me from easily adding on to my network, so recently I purchased a Cisco (Linksys) E4200 to add on to my net.  I was surprised that I was able to connect them without a problem and for several months both systems worked without a glitch.

Then it happened.

My broadband company started to make "repairs" on the street and so I had intermittent signal from them.  Each time I lost the connection, the back-up came on-line.  Then I lost both network signals.  So I (ever adventurous) went in to both local routers and started to play with parameters. (I know, I know. I should have left it alone.  But I didn't!) I made the entire network come crashing down around me. I have no one to blame but myself.  And I'm not ready to "fire" me yet.  It took 2 days but I got the E4200 to work again.  I started from scratch. Reset it all.  Now I have it working right.

But I'm only connected with the broadband net and I REALLY want to include the RV042 back into the system.

I'm fairly sure that what I did (and cannot recreate again, even accidentally) was NOT overlap some combination of IP addresses. Can anyone tell me what addresses are needed by each router so that they can coexist and "play nice" together again?

Feeling foolish but not afraid to ask for HELP!

Thank you.

David

4 Replies 4

mpyhala
Level 7
Level 7

Hi David,

Thank you for posting. The routers have the same default IP address, 192.168.1.1. If connected together they will have an IP conflict which will take your network down. I would do the following: