cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

rv110w acl

Barrylw65
Level 1
Level 1

Hello. I have a question. I've set up up a site to site VPN connection using the RV110W. The tunnel works fine if I click connect it connects ok with no queries. But where in the settings of the router do I tell it to deny NAT for packets that need to be routed via the VPN connection? I cannot ping the other end of the VPN so I assume its just going out over the internet. Sorry if this is a dumb question I'm pretty new to this.

Please help.

Thanks

Barry

6 Replies 6

chrebert
Level 4
Level 4

Hello Barry,

On the small business routers you don't have to tell them not to NAT across the tunnel, any traffic you have set as  remote network will be sent across without being NATed.  

One test is to try and ping the LAN IP of the remote router, if that works the tunnel is up and running.  Most of the time when you can't ping devices on the other side of the tunnel it is because of the firewall on the device, especially Windows hosts.  Try disabling the firewall on the host your trying to ping.  Also check to make sure the default gateway of the devices you are testing with are set to the routers on each end.

We can also test to see if your packets are being routed out to the internet instead of through the tunnel by running a traceroute to something out on the internet.  If the trace goes infinite past 30 then something has routed that packet incorrectly, or it can't find a way back.

Let me know how that goes and if it still isn't working go ahead and post your settings for each side of the tunnel, especially the local and remote groups.

Thank you for choosing Cisco,

Christopher Ebert - Advanced Network Support Engineer

Cisco Small Business Support Center

*please rate helpful posts*

Hello Chrsitopher.

Thanks for your reply.