Cisco Support Community
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements

Welcome to Cisco Support Community. We would love to have your feedback.

For an introduction to the new site, click here. And see here for current known issues.

RV220W problems authenticating with Huawei HG8245

Hi,

I recently had fibre installed whereas previously I was using ADSL.  I have been using an RV220W switch on my internal network for many months and that worked just fine in conjunction with a Zyxel modem in bridging mode with the RV220W authenticating.

As my new service provider insisted that I use a Huawei HG8245 to connect to my new fibre connection I first asked them whether or not it would work in bridging mode.  They assured me that it would.  I can successfully connect using the HG8245 as a switch and modem combined, although I note that the WAN configuration in the HG8245 has a VLAN setting, which is configured on 10.  I can also configure the HG8245 in bridging mode and use an XP box to connect to it with the XP box doing the authentication in PPPoE encapsulation mode with no apparent VLAN settings such that the XP box obtains a routable IP address from my service provider.