cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

RV325 remote management access

jlord8201
Level 1
Level 1

I am trying to allow remote management access on our Cisco RV325 Router, I have Remote Management allowed in the firewall with the default HTTPS Port 443 enabled. I have even setup HTTPS port 443 to the 192.168.1.1 WAN1 Port in Port Forwarding. I have the Public, Private and internet IP address of the router and I still cannot access the router via a outside source. Is there anything I am missing?

Thank you for your help.

Jason

6 Replies 6

peterstephens
Level 1
Level 1

For what it's worth all I had to do was enable 'Remote Management' under Firewall > General and save the setting.

I am new to this device and the RV325 is configured in a test environment, it has LAN IP address, static WAN IP address, some One-to-One NAT relationships (not for the router LAN or WAN IP, it won't let you do that), and associated rules for the 1-to-1 NAT to ALLOW various traffic (HTTP, HTTPS mostly) which are highest priority, and then DENY ALL ELSE rules with lower priority for the same 1-to-1 NAT relationships respectively.

And then the default router rules, and that's about it, there is no specific ALLOW rule for traffic to the router IP itself, I found this wasn't necessary I just needed to enable remote management which must by default allow this even though no access rule is shown, I did change the port to be something obscure up in the 4xxxx range.

The only other configuration on the router was to turn off Discovery-Bonjour and LLDP Status, there is no forwarding or PAT defined, and the firmware was the latest release from Cisco at the time of writing.

Hopefully this might help anyone else who experiences a problem with enabling this feature.