cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

RVS4000 VPN Setup

kschmidt
Level 1
Level 1

I am getting ready to setup an RVS4000 so we can use the VPN functionality of it, but I am not quite sure of the correct way to integrate it into our network though. I do not need site to site, just the client portion of it for a few salesmen/off site people to use. I have never used or setup a VPN before, so I'm learning everything as I go along.

We are in the middle of switching our ISP and I am waiting to set this up until the new service is live so I can test it prior to moving the rest of the company to the new ISP. 

We are switching to Comcast, and will have 5 static IP's available to use.  Currently, the firewall does all our NAT and is the forward facing device on our network.  I would like to leave the firewall in place (although I am setting up a new firewall for the new internet connection) and have th RVS 4000 sit behind it and receive VPN traffic from a WAN to LAN rule  We currently have a 192.168.100.0/24 network. 

Do I need to setup another /24 network for the VPN to function behind (and still have access to the 100.X network), or is there a way to allow everyone who connects to receive a 100.X ip address from our DHCP server.  I'm not sure how to set everything up with the WAN/LAN connections on the RVS4000 to acheive this. 

We are running a domain on a 2008R2 server.  The clients will be using laptops that are already part of the domain, if that will make a difference.

Thanks ahead to time for any help!

Kevin

2 Replies 2

janickle
Level 1
Level 1

Hi,