Views
Helpful
Replies

RVS4000 will not accept QuickVPN connection

mrpolitics
Level 1
Level 1

First, some basic information.

RVS400 has a public IP address, I have setup two accounts on the RVS4000.  I am trying to connect from a windows XP machine, and a Vista machine.  All attempts end with...

2010/09/08 11:13:41 [STATUS]Connecting to remote gateway with IP address: 24.106.*.*

2010/09/08 11:13:42 [WARNING]Remote gateway wasn't reached...

2010/09/08 11:13:42 [WARNING]Failed to connect.

2010/09/08 11:13:43 [WARNING]Remote gateway wasn't reached...

2010/09/08 11:13:43 [WARNING]Failed to connect.

2010/09/08 11:13:43 [WARNING]Failed to connect!

The RVS4000 is not behind a fireall, I have it setup to respond to WAN requests, and both windows machine have been tested with their corrosponding firewalls up and down.

Any ideas?

5 Replies 5

mrpolitics
Level 1
Level 1

So no ideas?

Hi, My name is Eric Moyers. I am a Network Support Engineer in the Small Business Support Center.

When dealing with QVPN it can sometimes be tedious, finding the issues why it is not connecting. But these are some of the things to look at:

1. The ports that Quick VPN use are 443 (this is where you get the certificate check) and 60443 as the alternate.  It then uses ports 500, and 4500 for the IPSec session.
  2. Another thing to check on your current network would be to see if there are any port forwarding rules for the previously mentioned ports that direct that traffic elsewhere in your network.