Views
Helpful
Replies

SDM Error when configuring WAN on 871

greiner.mike
Level 1
Level 1

Hello,

My apologies in advance if I've chosen the wrong place to post this question. I'm new to the world of Cisco. I've searched several forums and have been unable to find an answer to this.

I purchased a Cisco 870 on behalf of my company for a small office. We were previously using a consumer-grade router/gateway and I chose Cisco since I wanted something more reliable. Unfortunately, I've been unable to get it to work correctly with the company's ADSL Internet connection.

Using SDM Express to provision it is unsuccessful -- only the user name/password change takes effect once the wizard completes. I've isolated the problem to the WAN connection. If I set up everything except the WAN connection using the Start-up Wizard, then all the settings take effect.

If I then try to set up the WAN connection in full SDM, it fails with the following error:

SDM Express error message.jpg

Our setup is a fairly standard one and I don't really need any configuration options that aren't available through SDM Express. I have an average level of networking knowledge -- having set up many other home and small business routers. However I have no prior experience with CLI configuration. Nevertheless, I have been experimenting with the CLI and the IOS commands over the past three days of trying to get this to work. I have at least got it to the point where the router is dialing the Internet connect and it's accessible from outside. It is not sharing the connection with other workstations on the LAN though.

Has anyone seen the SDM error that I mention? Any help would be appreciated.

Hardware: Cisco 871

Software: IOS 12.4(15)T7, SDM 2.5

Thanks,
Mike

4 Replies 4

Hi Mike,

It seems hat this pppoe error is not critical. According to the following Software Defect Report, some images do not give the user access to that command:

CSCsq83872 - Memory Leak seen while unconfiguring pppoe