cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

Small Office Router RV08/016 or 891 -which appropriate?

dwmidkiff
Level 1
Level 1

I am not certain this is correct forum, but I doubt sales techs will be able to provide requested info. I am a knowledgable newbie, but not formally trained. After 6 or 7 years, the old Linksys died and am looking to upgrade hardware and inet access. It is a small, professional office, at most 3-5 people (on a seasonal basis). First criteria is, at a minimum, dual WAN access for reliability. We are a ship without a rudder without internet access. Questions:

1. According to Router Performance table, dated 11/3/2009, the 890 series supports 51.2 Mbps with no services. Is that figure 1. per port in each direction, 2. per port with both directions combined, or 3. is it some combo of both WAN ports.

1.A. According to testing at SmallNetBuilder, the RV 08 & 016 have a simultaneous throughput of about 150 Mbps. Considering the 890 is about twice as expensive as the RV08/016, can someone help me understand why?

1.B. I may add FIOS at 25/25 Mbps as a second WAN, so either RVs or 891 should handle the line speed. Am I correct that the 891 is the option which has 2 GbE WAN ports? FIOS tech has said they can run an ethernet line in from the outside box, while the DSL is also ethernet.

2. I think the 891 has more options to configure the interaction between the 2 WANs, but that very configurability makes me nervous and doubt my technical skills. I really do not mind the CLI, but have no experience with Cisco's OS. Can anyone recommend a good book or is the documentation on the CISCO website usually adequate?