Cisco Support Community
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements

Attention: The Community will be in read-only mode on 12/14/2017 from 12:00 am pacific to 11:30 am.

During this time you will only be able to see content. Other interactions such as posting, replying to questions, or marking content as helpful will be disabled for few hours.

We apologize for the inconvenience while we perform important updates to the Community.

Is it possible for SA540 to work in transparent bridge mode?

Hi all,

I've been considering to use a Cisco SA540 in an industrial project; please consider Scenario 1 and 2 files attached (bear with me - I'm an engineer, not an artist).

All networks mentioned in both scenarios are regular and well known Ethernet TCP/IP networks. The Corporate Network and Automation Network (including the DMZ) are in different subnets. The Corporate Network is the biggest one, similar to any company's corporate network you all know. The Automation Network exists for the purpose of operating and maintaining the industry process; it's smaller but highly critical. Only specific staff (automation staff and dedicated operators) have access to it. Although many devices and networks in the Automation Network are industry specific - not so well known, a small segment of it is plain Ethernet TCP/IP, as I've already stated. The Automation Network has a DMZ, where we lay servers that provide industry process information for the Corporate Network.

Scenario 2 may look at a first glance the best option, since it's simpler, doesn't require another router and benefits from Cisco SA540 support for both a LAN and a DMZ. The problem with Scenario 2 is the following:

• Since both networks are maintained by different teams under different management, TI staff would have absolute control over the Cisco SA540. This way automation staff could not grant that the Automation Network is really protected from the Corporate Network.