Cisco Support Community
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements

Welcome to Cisco Support Community. We would love to have your feedback.

For an introduction to the new site, click here. And see here for current known issues.

Is series 300 switch correct for me?

Hi

I have been looking into the 300 series switches. I'm a software developer but haven't much experience withh switches and network security, so I need some advice if this is the correct switch for me or if I should look into other swithces.

I'm looking for a switch for an advanced home network.

Requirements:

- Minimum 24 gigabit ports

- Can be placed in a standard rack

- Good quality!

- Not to pricy :-) 300 series is ok.

- I would like to set up one or two web servers. I'm not an expert in security (yet ;-)) but I guess the sensible thing here would to have these in a seperate VLAN/Zone so if somone gain acess to these they do not get access to my home network. The web servers will only have low to medium load. If I get high load I will probably move them to a cloud service.

Additional wishes:

- Preferble with PoE, but since I do not need this right away I could later add a smaller PoE when needed. But I see some of the 300 series switches have PoE so that would be great.

How I consider setting up my network:

- A router with static IP from my network hosting company. This router have a wlan, that I will setup for guest wlan access.

- Cisco router with minimum 24 ports divided into two networks. One for my web servers and one for my home nettwork. I guess this should be configured as dmz in the router from my hosting company to not create any comflicts with the firewall in the hosting router?

- On the home network I will place another seperate wlan router that will grant access to the home network.