cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

SF300-24p, 2 vlans, 1 mitel pbx, a firewall, me, and my orchestra!

bill12780
Level 1
Level 1

Hello Everyone,

Let me start by saying that I am NOT a network Engineer. I only play one 8 hours a day at my job that I kind of got by default. I have done alot of networking on a small scale in the past, but never with vlans, ip phones, etc..

That being said, please be gentle, and talk to me like I am a idiot.

I have read nearly every post on this forum that when I searched for "sf300" pulled up. But, I can not find anyone post that helps me in my situation. I may be suffering from information overload.

We have a mitel 3300 PBX that is our DHCP server. It feeds an old Foundry Networks switch that nobody knows the password for anymore so I can't even look in it to get some clues. What I think I know is this.

vlan1 = PC's subnet 10.0.0.X 255.255.255.0

vlan2 = phones subnet 10.1.0.X 255.255.255.0

Phones plug into the switch, PC's plug into the phone.

I am assuming this to be the case becase all the PC's get those numbers and when booting up a phone it comes up and says "vlan2 pri 5" during the DHCP discovery.

Like I said the Mitel 3300 is the DHCP server and our internet access is from the firewall's trusted port.

I won't bore you with everything I have tried. It would take way to long. So I will tell you what happens and maybe someone can tell me what I am missing.

I have put the switch in L3 mode via the console.

No matter what I try, the PC will always get IP addresses in vlan2's subnet. Even if I plug the PC directly into the switch.

Anyone have any ideas??? I have factory reset this baby and all I have done at this point is put it back in L3 and changed the default ip address so I can get to the web GUI.

Is there a guide out there that I can't find? or maybe a bullet point step by step on what needs to be setup to make this work right?