Cisco Support Community
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

SG300 20 Port and RV180

Hi There

I  am looking for some advice as i am very new to the configuration aspect  of network switches and routers, i have an RV180 router connected to a  SG300-20 switch which then connects digital signage hosts together.

They  are basic linux based small form factor PC behind Large LED displays,  with a master Publisher that manages the other subscribers (1 Publisher  and 8 Subscribers).

So  i am only Connecting at most 10 of the 20 ports of the switch, i  currently have the RV180 connected to a ISP Modem and now have internet  access to all the devices on the network for such things as Rss Feed,  Weather and News etc, The Main publisher host has an in built tuner card  so it can stream video (Digital Freeview or FreeSat) to the  subscribers, Packet format is Mpeg(Ts)/UDP/IP/Ethernet(Multicast) and  also using SAP protocol announcements.

Basically  iam looking for a recommended config setup for the switch and the  router, as out of the box Vlan 1 just seems to work but i feel there  must be a better way to configure and deploy this setup.

Many Thanks for any Help

5 REPLIES
Green

SG300 20 Port and RV180

Hi Craig, there is not really anything to advise. Essentially you're saying everything is working then asking how to set it up. Do you have a symptom? Do you have a feature requirement? Do you have a design requirement?

If your goal is basic connectivity and not more, you've achieved that and that's cool.

-Tom
Please mark answered for helpful posts

-Tom Please mark answered for helpful posts http://blogs.cisco.com/smallbusiness/

SG300 20 Port and RV180

Hi Tom

Thanks for the reply yeah it did sound a stupid request for help as the out of box config just seemed to work, but its more of a Guidance and best practice thing for this type of setup if you had any words of wisdom that would be great.