cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

VLAN Setup on SG300-20

NordicPC_GB
Level 1
Level 1

I'm completely new to VLANs, and I have a client who has a SG300-20 switch. This location is basically a shared office space with individual offices inside a large building. Each office has network ports that lead back to a patch panel, which then is attached to the switch, which is attached to the router, which is attached to the cable modem. At the moment, there is only one office being used, but the client would like for each office to share one main Internet connection, but not be able to see each other on the network.

Basically, one port will be taken up by the Internet connection coming in, but the other 19 will be attached to ports in different offices. They all need to see the Internet connection, but don't need to be able to see each other. We figured that the best way to achieve this would be through the use of VLANs. I followed information given in this post: https://supportforums.cisco.com/thread/2093645, thinking that it was very similar to what we wanted, but it's not working. When I setup the VLANs in this fashion, the ports stop seeing the Internet connection. So to re-itterate, here's the setup:

o - Cable Modem

|

|_ - Router running DD-WRT

|

|_ - Cisco SG300-20 Switch

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks,

Garrett

10 Replies 10

rocater
Level 3
Level 3

Hello Garrett,

How many smaller offices are you looking to have? Also does your router support multiple vlans/networks?

There are two different ways of doing what you would like, but based off of what you have, one could be easier.