Views
Helpful
Replies

WAP 200 with external antenna

maxime.aupaix
Level 1
Level 1

Hello,

I connected an external 12dBi omni-directional antenna for Networks 2.4 Ghz (TL-ANT2412D) with LMR-400 cable 5M

but my antenna "emits" nothing, I have no signal. With the two supplied antennas with WAP200 I signal but does not cover any desired area.

Could you tell me what parameter to change?

Thank you.

1 Accepted Solution

Accepted Solutions

Eric Moyers
Level 7
Level 7

Hi, My name is Eric Moyers. I am a Network Support Engineer in the Cisco Small Business Support Center. Thank you for using the Cisco Community Post Forums.

The WAP200 is 1X2 MIMO which means that it Transmits on one antenna and Receives on two.

1) We do not support 3rd party antennas.

2) I would try attaching the 3rd party antenna to the other post.

I know customer that have had success adding 3rd party antennas, but there are no promises.

Thanks

Eric Moyers

Cisco Network Support Engineer

SBSC Wireless and Surveillance SME

CCNA, CCNA-Wireless

1-866-606-1866

View solution in original post

6 Replies 6

Eric Moyers
Level 7
Level 7

Hi, My name is Eric Moyers. I am a Network Support Engineer in the Cisco Small Business Support Center. Thank you for using the Cisco Community Post Forums.

The WAP200 is 1X2 MIMO which means that it Transmits on one antenna and Receives on two.

1) We do not support 3rd party antennas.

2) I would try attaching the 3rd party antenna to the other post.

I know customer that have had success adding 3rd party antennas, but there are no promises.

Thanks

Eric Moyers

Cisco Network Support Engineer

SBSC Wireless and Surveillance SME

CCNA, CCNA-Wireless

1-866-606-1866

Hello,

I did not know that the WAP200 is 1X2 MIMO which means that it Transmits on one antenna and Receives on two.

I changed my antenna outside side and it works very well.

Thank you very much.

It's not true I think.

sorry for english.