cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

WAP321 and 4410N as a repeater setup assistance

david.santel
Level 1
Level 1

I am setting up a wireless network for a remote office. I am using a WAP321 and 4410N as a repeater.

Can anyone point me to documentation on how to configure this topology? I know it's done with WDS.

Any pointers to documentation or tips would be much appriciated.

9 Replies 9

ihannich
Level 1
Level 1

Hi,

My name is Isabelle Hannich and I work as a Technical Writer for Cisco Small Business. Please refer to the link for the WAP321 Administration Guide. Chapter 5 (Wireless Settings) includes information on Work Group Bridge.

WDS Bridge connects Cisco WAP121 and Cisco WAP321 devices.

http://www.cisco.com/en/US/docs/wireless/access_point/csbap/wap121/administration/guide/WAP121_321_AG_en.pdf

Hope this helps,

Isabelle Hannich    

Cisco Small Business

Hi Clayton

Did I understand you correct. The WAP321 does not support Work Group Bridge with WPA2 (WPA Personal) with other APs (Access Points) not manufactured by Cisco? Why is that not mentioned in the documentation?

If it works, how do I have to configure it correctly? The Documentation WAP121_321_AG_en.pdf is ether not precise enough for me or I do not understand it... :-( Are there hidden things to be aware of?

Cheers Cristian

WAP321.jpg

Hi Clyton,

Sorry for the misunderstanding “Work Group Bridge” and “WDS bridge”.

According to your questions, I assume that you have not seen the attached picture (WAP321.jpg).

I try to connect via WAP 321 to an AP (Wireless) with Work Group Bridge. The two networks (copper LAN) those are located on the same subnet (192.168.1.0/24) should be connected (are in different Buildings). The AP acts as an Internet router and DHCP. If everything works right, I'll give the WAP321 a fixed IP in the 192.168.1.0/24 subnet. The clients (workstations) should get over the WAP321 LAN or WiFi an IP address from the AP.