Views
Helpful
Replies

WAP321 Captive Portal

Richard Fuller
Level 1
Level 1

Hi

I am having problems getting Captive Portal to work for my guest network on my WAP321. I can see two or three similar threads on this forum, but have not been able to find a solution. Let me also say that I am not a network expert, so please forgive any lack of basic knowledge.

My setup is this:

Router = CISCO RV180

Switch = CISCO SG200-08

A/P = CISCO WAP321

On the router, I have created a Guest VLAN 5 and configured it with Inter LAN routing disabled and Tagged to Port 1 (the connection to the switch)

01.jpg

In the VLAN subnet settings, I have the DNS server address set to the IP address of the Router's default VLAN, to enable web access from the VLAN.

02.jpg

On the switch, the RV180 is connected to Port 1 and the WAP321 to Port 8. I have enabled Tagged port access to the guest VLAN on these two ports.

03.jpg

On the WAP321, I have assigned a static IP address and set the gateway to the IP address of the RV180.

04.jpg

I have created VLAN 5 as the Guest network on the WAP321.

05.jpg

With Captive Portal disabled, users can log onto the WAP321 on either VLAN and guest users correctly have no access to devices on the default LAN. Everything works perfectly.

However, as soon as I enable Captive Portal, although guest users can still get a connection and IP address to the Guest VLAN, as soon as they try to open a web page, nothing happens and the page times out. The Captive Portal login page is never displayed.

Interestingly, if I reconfigure the guest network to be on the default VLAN 1, everything works correctly and the Captive Portal login page is shown, However, using this method, the guests have access to devices on the LAN, which is not what is required.

The Captive Portal configuration and association is...

06.jpg    07.jpg

Can anyone please tell me what I am doing wrong? Any advice is truely welcomed.

Thanks

Richard

10 Replies 10

chrebert
Level 4
Level 4