cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

Configure UCS networking for appliance ports

aetwaroo1
Level 1
Level 1

I am new to the UCS platform so please bear with me....

I have configured UCS appliance ports to attach directly to Netapp storage over 10 GbE. My blades are configured as ESXi hosts. The hosts can see all the networks I provisioned in the UCS via the VLANs. When I try to configure NFS storage, I am unable to connect to the volume. I have the vif groups on the Netapp side to use a private IP 192.168.100.1. Do I need to configure a VLAN for this network as well. I assumed it would just connect. If so, where would I configure the that VLAN's ID?

Can someone assist with a detailed configuration on how I can accomplish this?

3 Replies 3

Walter Dey
VIP Alumni
VIP Alumni

http://www.cisco.com/c/en/us/support/docs/servers-unified-computing/ucs-5100-series-blade-server-chassis/116075-ucs-app-connectivity-tshoot-00.html

UCS Appliance Port Connectivity and Troubleshooting

When a VLAN is created for an appliance port in the Appliances section of LAN tab, make sure to create the same VLAN in the LAN Cloud tab.

http://www.cisco.com/c/en/us/products/collateral/servers-unified-computing/ucs-6100-series-fabric-interconnects/whitepaper_c11-702584.html

Cisco Unified Computing System (UCS) Storage Connectivity Options and Best Practices with NetApp Storage

has a section NFS setup with appliance ports

Thanks for your response!

That is sort of my question. For a private IP, what VLAN and VLAN ID do I use? Do I make one up?

Also the article about NFS over 10Gbe talks about scenarios for fail-over but it doesn't mention the configuration/setup details for NFS and direct attached storage. Also, reading that article, does this mean that I need to put L2 switches between the FI and Netapp NAS? The entire appliance port capability is somewhat misleading, as I thought I would be able to go from NAS to FI directly which in turn communicates with UCS blades.