Views
Helpful
Replies

NPV uplinks and portchannels

gnijs
Level 4
Level 4

Hello all,

I am relatively new to storage and FCoE, but i am currently testing FCoE with N5500 and B22HP FEX. And i have two questions:

[1] Using the traffic-map feature, i can assign a server to a specific uplink or list of uplinks. However, what i am missing from this feature, is to give some sort of preference to certain uplinks in the list of uplink interfaces. In the version i am running, if you only select one uplink interface, the server is statically pinned to that uplink. If it goes down, the FC connection goes down. If i give two uplink interfaces, i cannot give preference to one  uplink or the first uplink in the list. Therefore , it is impossible to distribute the load of for example 4 ESX servers across 2 uplink interfaces, while still keeping redundancy in case one uplink fails.

[2] Today, my uplinks are individual NP links to a native Brocarde/HP storage switch. Servers are distributed across these uplinks using an algoritm, but when an uplink fails, the server has to switch to another uplink and this switch is disruptive. I have read that you can fix this by configuring the uplinks in a san-port-channel, but i have been unsuccessfull in setting up a san-port-channel between a Nexus5500 in NPV mode and this Brocade/HP storage switch.I don't know anything about the Brocade switch, and the only port option that i can see is "enable/disable" trunk mode, but i don't know if this means port-channel-mode in Brocade language.....is this actually possible ?

regards,

GN

2 Replies 2

richbarb
Cisco Employee
Cisco Employee

Hello,