Cisco Support Community
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements

Welcome to Cisco Support Community. We would love to have your feedback.

For an introduction to the new site, click here. If you'd prefer to explore, try our test area to get started. And see here for current known issues.

Rolling Stack Upgrade on 3750X switches

Help!!!

Guys, I am really new to all this. I was given the task of upgrading a stack of 2  3750X switches running IOS v 12.2(55)SE4 to version 15.0.1-SE3. Why this version and not a newer one? Well, this stack is in a production environment and sits between an esxi hosts, a sql cluster and an EqualLogic SAN; and on the compatibility matrix of the SAN, this is the required one. These devices/hosts are not using LACP, they have nic teams but none of the teams are configured to use LACP. 

The stack has 4 Uplinks that are set as L2 - NO-LACP PortChannel, they go to another stack of 2 extreme L3 switches, that provide connectivity to the lan). It goes as follow:

2 ports from the cisco switch 1 go into member 1 and 2 ports of the extreme stack

2  ports from the cisco switch 2 go into member 1 and 2 portsof the extreme stack

I would like to do this upgrade the least disruptive way possible for my esxi hosts and sql cluster (Cant shut them down).

I went seeking help from cisco TAC and they sent me these 2 links to guide me through the upgrade process, but I ended up really confused even though it seems to be a really straight forward process.

1- http://www.cisco.com/c/en/us/support/docs/switches/catalyst-3750-series-switches/64898-upgrade-3750-stack.html

2- http://www.cisco.com/c/en/us/td/docs/switches/lan/catalyst3750x_3560x/software/release/12-2_58_se/configuration/guide/3750xscg/swstack.html#pgfId-1295104

The first link (3750 Series Switch Stack IOS Upgrade - Automatic (.tar image)) mentions the upload image process but it is not clear if it will reboot one member at a time and not both.