Cisco Support Community
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements

Welcome to Cisco Support Community. We would love to have your feedback.

For an introduction to the new site, click here. And see here for current known issues.

New Member

Write Erase - will I lose license info?

Hi,

I have a requirement to move 2 x MDS9513 switches from one site to another and add them into an existing fabric.

The configuration will need to be erased once moved in order to re-configure IP addresses, switch name etc.

The plan is to perform a "write erase"

My question is : Will a "write erase" delete any license information held on the switch?

Regards


Rich

1 REPLY
Cisco Employee

Re: Write Erase - will I lose license info?

Hello,

Please be sure to have backup Licenses before doing a "write erase" on the MDS switch.

Pease see here from Obtaining and Installing Licenses:

http://www.cisco.com/en/US/customer/products/ps5989/products_configuration_guide_chapter09186a0080664c67.html

Tip We recommend backing up your license files immediately after installing them and just before issuing a write erase command.

I hope this helps.

Regards,

Carlos

843
Views
0
Helpful
1
Replies
CreatePlease login to create content