Views
Helpful
Replies

VLAN tagging and non-trunked ports for dummies

zacc04
Level 1
Level 1

Good afternoon all,

I have been working in a 100% Cisco space since 2010 and never once heard or saw the term VLAN tagging in the real world; I saw it once or twice in a CBT Nuggets video years ago and that was the extent of my exposure to the concept. Now, in a new gig with non-Cisco switches, as well as lower-end non-Catalyst switches that don't use the full "normal" cisco IOS, I'm stuck trying to fully figure out the concept of VLAN tagging while doing configuration cleanup on about a hundred remote locations and plan a design for their lifecycle replacements. I understand the concept when talking trunks (or LAG in non-Cisco, apparently) but I'm fairly confused when porting it over to access and 'general' ports. 

1) What are tagged and untagged and what do they actually mean?

2) What is the difference between a general port and an access port? I see that a general port can pass traffic from multiple vlans but how does this differ from a trunk?

3) How does #2 apply to #1?

I have a small lab at my desk that includes a Cisco CL220 switch I am tapping away at that uses some kind of non-standard IOS. I have figured out how to add tagged vlans but after blocking VLAN 1 it says that the ingress untagged VLAN is now 4095. I know 4095 isn't a normal VLAN number, so I'm stuck trying to deduce what this actually "means." Should there be an 'untagged' vlan if multiple vlans are configured on a non-trunk port?

Any help is appreciated. I attached the output of the show switchport command and its output showing the VLAN 4095 thing

1 Reply 1

Martin L
VIP
VIP