Cisco Support Community
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements

Welcome to Cisco Support Community. We would love to have your feedback.

For an introduction to the new site, click here. And see here for current known issues.

New Member

EX90 unlucky firmware downgrade from TC 4.2.1 to 3.1.4

I got a problem on hanging after uploading firmware with 3.1.4. We bought a system with TC 4.2.1 onboard. With that ver. of firmware i didn't register Ex90 with CUCM 8.5 aka Third Party Advanced Device. So i decided to downgrade Ex 90 to ver. 3.1.4. When upload had been finisheed the system lost its ip address. I tried to reset Ex90 to factory defaults, but it wasn't lucky. Blue power indicator is not starting itself after holding more than 10 secs. When i switch on power button after holding it more than 1 min, loading procedure is the same --i see Tandberg logo on a monitor, i see Tandberg logo on a TouchPad for 10 second with an exclamation mark in a circle. After 10 secs  exclamation mark disappears and instead logo on a TouchPad i see only circular loading points. On a monitor of EX90 Tandberg logo is always standby.

Please tell me how can i reheal my Ex90?

KR

Andrey

Сообщение отредактировал: Andriy Zatyshnyy

21 REPLIES

EX90 unlucky firmware downgrade from TC 4.2.1 to 3.1.4

Check here:

https://supportforums.cisco.com/thread/2100157

here

https://supportforums.cisco.com/thread/2120980

and here:

https://supportforums.cisco.com/docs/DOC-23161

Be aware that there are two different FW versions, the TC and the TCNC (without encryption)

You have to use the proper one which reflects your option key

I am not sure if there might be new Cisco hardware versions which require a specific minimum software image.

Regards CUCM I would recomend 8.6.2 and see the links here:

https://supportforums.cisco.com/message/3586121#3586121

Please remember to rate helpful responses and identify

New Member

Re: EX90 unlucky firmware downgrade from TC 4.2.1 to 3.1.4

Hi Martin!

Thx for reply. I installed Cisco TFTP soft. Did all the things you wrote. But it is not enough in that case.

The worst thing that EX90 doesn't respond on serial connection intervention.

Connection refused on both baud rates - 38400  8n1 and 9600 8n1.

Codec is still in updating mode. Loading circles are spinning around all the time on TouchPad. Tandberg logo is always on monitor of EX90.

Is it possible to do  smth else with power button? Standard factory default procedure doesn't work.

Look here plz:

Unplug the power cable.

    Replug the power cable.

    Press and hold the power button immediately when the green LED in the bottom left corner lights up. Hold until the LED turns off and on again after approximately 10 seconds.

    Release the power button, and press it twice within 2 seconds.

The Cisco TelePresence EX60/EX90 is now reset to factory defaults.

From the moment "on again" our codec is not switching on itself . So that it couldn't be correctly reseted.

May be it's a situation with DOA? If it was broken during shipment or in a plant. So may be it had better to return it until 90 days are still in effect?

KR

Andrey

EX90 unlucky firmware downgrade from TC 4.2.1 to 3.1.4

At least the bootloader should show up on the serial port, the default speed for C-Series systems shall be:

38400,8,n,1, maybe your cable pinout is not ok?

If you can not manage to bring it up via the serial port and tftp, I would contact my cisco partner and ask for support or if you are one file a TAC case.

Good success.

Please do not forget to rate the postings! (the stars below the postings)

Please remember to rate helpful responses and identify

New Member

Re: EX90 unlucky firmware downgrade from TC 4.2.1 to 3.1.4

"At least the bootloader should show up on the serial port, the default speed for C-Series systems shall be:

38400,8,n,1, maybe your cable pinout is not ok?"

--Yep, def speed is that. I've checked cable pinout--it worked normally with other equipment. 2 other guys from my crew have checked up with their laptops and different cables, but nobody got successfull result.

"If you can not manage to bring it up via the serial port and tftp, I  would contact my cisco partner and ask for support or if you are one  file a TAC case."

--The only thing here is to get a service book with special power button's pressing combination. Otherwise the system has a hardware problem which it got during delivery. Here could be -- CPU pins damages, power button contact troubles, burnout the condencer etc. If you have a contact in a support team that has such a recovery book--please let me know, we'll be very grateful.

KR

Andrey

Cisco Employee

Re: EX90 unlucky firmware downgrade from TC 4.2.1 to 3.1.4

Hi,

Are you using the correct serial cable?  Ex90 uses a serial cable that has a PCB board in between the end to end connectors for voltage conversion.

New Member

Re: EX90 unlucky firmware downgrade from TC 4.2.1 to 3.1.4

Hi,

I used like in a photo attached below:

Console port of Ex90-----"consol cable end-- DBD-9 mother"+"DBD-9 father--USB"  --- USB port of a notebook.

KR

Andrey

New Member

Andriy,

Andriy,

**Console port of Ex90-----"consol cable end-- DBD-9 mother"+"DBD-9 father--USB"  --- USB port of a notebook.**

That worked for you?

VIP Green

A normal USB serial adaptor

A normal USB serial adaptor will not work as the port on the EX90 isn't a standard serial connection.

Have a look at this thread which shows you how to make the required cable: ex90-making-console-cable-and-consoling

Or this one: ex90-make-console-cable-using-ca42-usb-data-cable which shows how to do it with a readily available Nokia cable.

Wayne
--
Please remember to rate responses and to mark your question as answered if appropriate.

Wayne
--
Please remember to rate responses and to mark your question as answered if appropriate.

EX90 unlucky firmware downgrade from TC 4.2.1 to 3.1.4

Hi, Andriy

You need special cable for EX.

Cisco do not sell this cable unfortunately.

This cable use serial level converter. For your info: ttp://sodoityourself.com/max232-serial-level-converter/

br. Oleksandr

br Oleksandr

EX90 unlucky firmware downgrade from TC 4.2.1 to 3.1.4

I think I heard that the touch panel connector carries the serial port,

ok, even if it would have proper rs232 levels, it is then the connector which would be the issue, ...

Please remember to rate helpful responses and identify

Cisco Employee

Re: EX90 unlucky firmware downgrade from TC 4.2.1 to 3.1.4

hi,

This cable will not work for ex series endpoint. Will try to get a picture to show you the cable with the pcb.

Sent from Cisco Technical Support iPhone App

Cisco Employee

EX90 unlucky firmware downgrade from TC 4.2.1 to 3.1.4

Hi,

This is the one I have.

Unfortunately, as what Ole mentioend, Cisco do not sell this cable.  

You need the RS232 to TTL/CMOS converter (http://alldav.com/index.php?main_page=product_info&products_id=11)

with that, you can do the soldering as follows :

New Member

Re: EX90 unlucky firmware downgrade from TC 4.2.1 to 3.1.4

Thanx Teck!

I did a special serial cable that is cheaper and more reliable for engineers. To make it you should do:

  1. Buy Siemens Data cable DCA-510 (5 $).
  2. Remake Siemens-End with a nippers, socketing tool and your scheme above with a small modification (you are to cut out the orange power wire, because it is a +5V, which we don't need to transer data).
  3. So in a new scheme you will need only 1-White (ground), 2-Blue (Rx), 7-Green (Tx).

So i took that Siemens cable:

And prepared that new-mode cable with help of my mate Evgenii:

Then we connected via serial port to EX90. Boot process was normal, we prepared all the networking infrastructure:

  1. TFTPD32 v4.32 to obtain an ip address for EX90.
  2. Launched Cisco TFTP Server v1.1.
  3. Cisco Catalyst Switch 2960.

The System EX90 got an ip address. We started the procedire of updating a firmware like Martin told in his post with all the instruction described in a doc. For the beggining we tried to complete the firmware ver. 3.1.4. But it had not been uploaded. So we decided to upload ver. 4.2.1 that is a native one.

We connected Ethernet cable to service Ethernet port on EX90 with picture of a PC-connection. And uploaded ver. 4.2.1. After all of this we were able to work with web-interface. Monitor of EX90 got his Cisco-logo picture and message about release keys. It is very strange, because yhat ver. (4.2.1) is native and it worked with normal release keys.

Let us discuss what should we do further?

I'm not able to do the command

xCommand systemunit FactoryReset Confirm: Yes

TouchPanel still has loading around circles.

Logs are here.

xcommand Boot 

*r BootResult (status=OK):

** end

OK

CUIL reboot request, restarting

Broadcast message from root (Sun Mar 18 09:01:00 2012):

The system is going down for reboot NOW!

tshell: Remote closed connection

ъч8хч

U-Boot 2010.06-83 (Jul 20 2011 - 08:13:44) MPC83XX

Reset Status:

CPU:   e300c1, MPC8347_TBGA_EA, Rev: 3.0 at 600 MHz, CSB: 200 MHz

I2C:   ready

DRAM:  DDR2 RAM: 512 MiB

RAM data bus test       [PASS]

RAM address bus test    [PASS]

FLASH: 4 MiB

NAND:  2048 MiB

RTC:   2012-03-18 (Sunday) - Time:  9:01:15

PCI Video Processor Detection   [PASS]

Falcon main board

       Rev: I

       SN: F1044516

       Object level: 68

       MAC: 00:50:60:06:61:2C

Net:   TSEC0, TSEC1

Hwmon: 43

Eth:   Configure the external switch

Eth:   Configure the internal switch 88e61xx

Press 'b' to enter u-boot prompt

Press 'c' to stop autoboot:  0

yaffs: Mounting /flash

yaffs: restored from checkpoint

Configure FPGAs

-

Setting up Davinci HD (00.10.00)... 675Mhz       [DONE]

Setting up Davinci HD (00.11.00)... 675Mhz       [DONE]

Setting up Davinci HD (00.12.00)... 675Mhz       [DONE]

Setting up Davinci HD (00.13.00)... 675Mhz       [DONE]

Setting up Davinci HD (00.14.00)... 675Mhz       [DONE]

Copy /flash/active/arm/rootfs to 0x03000000...  [DONE]

Copy /flash/active/arm/kernel to 0x02000000...  [DONE]

Copy /flash/active/arm/u-boot.bin to 0x01000000...      [DONE]

Copy /flash/active/kernel to 0x01000000...      [DONE]

Copy /flash/active/rootfs to 0x02000000...      [DONE]

Copy /flash/active/dtb3 to 0x03000000...        [DONE]

save exit: isCheckpointed 1

## Booting kernel from Legacy Image at 01000000 ...

   Image Name:   Linux-2.6.36.1-163

   Created:      2011-07-19  15:14:02 UTC

   Image Type:   PowerPC Linux Kernel Image (gzip compressed)

   Data Size:    2096967 Bytes = 2 MiB

   Load Address: 00000000

   Entry Point:  00000000

   Verifying Checksum ... OK

## Loading init Ramdisk from Legacy Image at 02000000 ...

   Image Name:   TANDBERG rootfs

   Created:      2011-07-19  15:23:40 UTC

   Image Type:   PowerPC Linux RAMDisk Image (gzip compressed)

   Data Size:    8082714 Bytes = 7.7 MiB

   Load Address: 00000000

   Entry Point:  00000000

   Verifying Checksum ... OK

## Flattened Device Tree blob at 03000000

   Booting using the fdt blob at 0x3000000

   Uncompressing Kernel Image ... OK

   Loading Ramdisk to 1e784000, end 1ef3951a ... OK

   Loading Device Tree to 007fb000, end 007ff8c0 ... OK

Using MPC8347 Saturn PPC machine description

Linux version 2.6.36.1-163 (kaa@kaa-asterix-pc) (gcc version 4.5.0 (GCC) ) #1 PREEMPT Tue Jul 19 17:13:59 CEST 2011

Found initrd at 0xde784000:0xdef3951a

bootconsole [udbg0] enabled

setup_arch: bootmem

mpc8347_saturn_ppc_setup_arch()

Found FSL PCI host bridge at 0x00000000e0008500. Firmware bus number: 0->0

PCI host bridge /pci@e0008500 (primary) ranges:

MEM 0x0000000090000000..0x000000009fffffff -> 0x0000000090000000

MEM 0x0000000080000000..0x000000008fffffff -> 0x0000000080000000 Prefetch

  IO 0x00000000e2000000..0x00000000e20fffff -> 0x0000000000000000

arch: exit

Zone PFN ranges:

  DMA      0x00000000 -> 0x00020000

  Normal   empty

  HighMem  empty

Movable zone start PFN for each node

early_node_map[1] active PFN ranges

    0: 0x00000000 -> 0x00020000

Built 1 zonelists in Zone order, mobility grouping on.  Total pages: 130048

Kernel command line: basemount=/dev/mtdblock1 console=tty0,38400 mainboard=0x58 videoboard=0xffffffff audioextboard=0xffffffff u-boot=2010.06-83

Registered maintag: 0x58

Registered videotag: 0xffffffff

Registered audioexttag: 0xffffffff

PID hash table entries: 2048 (order: 1, 8192 bytes)

Dentry cache hash table entries: 65536 (order: 6, 262144 bytes)

Inode-cache hash table entries: 32768 (order: 5, 131072 bytes)

Memory: 507400k/524288k available (4112k kernel code, 16888k reserved, 180k data, 151k bss, 180k init)

Kernel virtual memory layout:

  * 0xfffcf000..0xfffff000  : fixmap

  * 0xff800000..0xffc00000  : highmem PTEs

  * 0xff6fb000..0xff800000  : early ioremap

  * 0xe1000000..0xff6fb000  : vmalloc & ioremap

SLUB: Genslabs=13, HWalign=32, Order=0-3, MinObjects=0, CPUs=1, Nodes=1

Hierarchical RCU implementation.

        RCU-based detection of stalled CPUs is disabled.

        Verbose stalled-CPUs detection is disabled.

NR_IRQS:512

IPIC (128 IRQ sources) at e1000700

clocksource: timebase mult[5000002] shift[22] registered

Console: colour dummy device 80x25

console [tty0] enabled, bootconsole disabled

login: admin

Welcome to

TANDBERG Codec Release TC4.2.1.265253

SW Release Date: 2011-09-06

OK

xcommand?

Command not recognized.

xcommand ?

- User Commands -

Boot         SystemUnit  

OK

xcommand SystemUnit ?

xCommand SystemUnit OptionKey Add

    Key(r): < 16="">

xCommand SystemUnit ReleaseKey Add

    Key(r): < 16="">

OK

KR

Andrey

Cisco Employee

Re: EX90 unlucky firmware downgrade from TC 4.2.1 to 3.1.4

if you have use the tftp method to load the software, you need to install the release key again. So for this case you need the tc4.x key.

You can check that the release key is not install by typing xstatus systemunit and check under the release key section, you should see it as true.

You have to install the options that you originally have also.

Sent from Cisco Technical Support iPhone App

New Member

Re: EX90 unlucky firmware downgrade from TC 4.2.1 to 3.1.4

Hmm, bad news.

I don't know the release key. Is it possible to obtain it?

At the begining i had options--MS, DD, PR. 

Re: EX90 unlucky firmware downgrade from TC 4.2.1 to 3.1.4

Its  easy

www.cisco.com/go/license

Enter your s/n EX90  for lookup and resend in Tandberg software lookup&resend.

Br. Oleksandr

br Oleksandr
New Member

Re: EX90 unlucky firmware downgrade from TC 4.2.1 to 3.1.4

Thx Olexandr!

Now it works like it was in a first day. The next step will be to upgrade it to TC5.1.0 and to try it with CUCM 8.6.2. Is it possible to obtain new keys for TC 5.1.0?

Re: EX90 unlucky firmware downgrade from TC 4.2.1 to 3.1.4

For TC5 you need have valid service contract.

You may generate new keys on www.cisco.com/go/license  or contact the GLO at licensing@cisco.com

https://supportforums.cisco.com/community/netpro/collaboration-voice-video/telepresence/blog/2011/12/08/tc50-release-key-update

Br. Oleksandr

br Oleksandr

EX90 unlucky firmware downgrade from TC 4.2.1 to 3.1.4

Hi Andriy

The license info shall also show you if you have a valid service contract.

Without one you would only see the release key which was originally present when the system was bought

(I dislike that, it should show the keys which were available during the time you had a contract).

Anyhow, with in a Major release (like TC5.0 to TC5.1) no new key would be needed,

form one Major to the other (like TC5.x to TC3.y or TC4.a to TC5.b) a new TC release key

for the destination firmware version is required.

To get the new license you need to have a service contract in place.

The DD=DualDisplay, PR=PremiumResolution, MS=MultiSite are option keys,

if you have not done till now, you should add them ass well.

Please remember to rate helpful responses and identify

New Member

Re: EX90 unlucky firmware downgrade from TC 4.2.1 to 3.1.4

Hi, Martin, nice to hear you.

The final problem is to register EX90 and C20 with IP  PBX. Eq-t is demo, so it has been bought without service contract for  internal demo need. So i can't imagine how to register them with CUCM  8.5 or CUCM 8.6.

As soon as we bought endpoints, the bosses wanted to make these 2 systems in a conferencing betw 2 cities for theirs needs.

I guess it had better to download VCS from Tandberg  site and try to register endpoints with it. The other way could be  Asterisk.

KR

Andriy

New Member

Re: EX90 unlucky firmware downgrade from TC 4.2.1 to 3.1.4

Hi all,

Finally i've registered EX90 & C20 being with TC 4.2.1 on CUCM 8.6.2!

From the beggining till the end of our experiments it took us more than a month to register both endpoints with CUCM. We didn't register these endpoints with CUCM 8.5 aka Third Part Advanced Device but some tricks have done the deal with CUCM 8.6.2.

About the tricks:

On CUCM 8.6.2:

Device/Phone/Add a New Phone

Choose Cisco TelePresence Quick Set C20 or Cisco TelePresence EX90

Device Pool*--Default

Owner UserId=4 digit number

Phone Button Template*=Standard Cisco TelePresence EX90

Protocol Specific Information:

Here CUCM 8.6.2 propose you to choose Device Security Profile*, where one can find only Standard SIP Non-Secure Profile. You are to open menu System\Security\Phone Security Profile

Find Phone Security Profile where

Go to 2nd & 3rd page to find

Cisco TelePresence EX90 – Standard SIP Non-Secure Profile

Or

Cisco TelePresence Quick Set C20 – Standard SIP Non-Secure Profile

Name*=C20 with Digest Authentication or EX90 with Digest Authentication

=TCP+UDP

Put

Enable Digest Authentication

If smth will go wrong try to play with " " to switch on and off it.

Go to Menu User Management\End User

User ID=4 digit number (same like Owner UserID)

Password=4 digit number (i took the same loke UserID & OwnerID)

PIN=1111 i put just in case of simplicity)

Primary Extension (i took the same loke UserID & OwnerID)

Directory Number Configuration:

Caller Number (i took the same loke UserID & OwnerID)

Line1 on Device SER---Display (Internal Caller ID)=(i took the same loke UserID & OwnerID)

Users Associated with Line=UserID.

On Endpoint:

Configuration\Advanced Configuration\Conference 1\DefaultCall

Protocol=SIP

Configuration\Advanced Configuration\SIP\Profile 1

URI 1: <4 digit number>@

DisplayName : Click to edit...

DefaultTransport : TCP (The most important parameter. Both systems will register with CUCM 8.6.2 and firmware TC 4.2.1 only with that kind of traffic!).

TlsVerify : Off

Type : Cisco

Outbound : Off

Authentication 1

LoginName:4 digit number

Password: 4 digit number

So that is all. Both systems has registered. I took a test on MS. I got EX90, C20, Cisco 9971 and XLite 4 in a one videoconferencing.

My special thanks to Teck Chye Tang, Martin Koch and Olexander Yurchenko who helped me with my settings.

KR

Andriy

4536
Views
29
Helpful
21
Replies
CreatePlease to create content