Views
Helpful
Replies

SIP configuration for SX10

javflogdl
Level 1
Level 1

Hello,

I just received a cisco telepresence SX10 device which uses SIP protocol only and I have no experience at all with this. Older devices that I have worked with used H323 protocol which is very easy to configure. Looking for some assistance on how to setup the SIP. Your help will be greatly appreciated 

Thank you

2 Accepted Solutions

Accepted Solutions

Has the Radvision MCU been setup to support SIP?

View solution in original post

A bit for your understanding. SIP and H323 are protocols to set up a call.

The SX10 can only talk SIP, the EX-Series can talk H323 and SIP.

As said here before, you can set up the EX90 and the SX10 to dial

each other on SIP.

If you have to handle other sites, especially if they also dial or receive

calls via h323 (ip or registered somewhere) A stand alone SX10 is not ideal.

If you have a PBX or Video infrastructure, some only support sip or h323 or both but can not interwork (=translate) in between SIP and H323.

The Cisco VCS is doing a great job here, also if you need something for

Firewall traversal (that might be an other challenge you face).

Btw, if you place a SIP device on a public IP there is a higher chance that you get hit by annoying fake/scan calls.

Ask your Cisco Partner to help you with finding a nice solution. Maybe going one step back to see what you have, what you require is a good idea here.

Please remember to rate helpful responses and identify

View solution in original post

14 Replies 14

Ayodeji Okanlawon
VIP Alumni
VIP Alumni

For sip you need to configure the following under sip profile

1. sip uri...This is usually the extension of your sx10 ex..5000@yourdomain.com

2.Display name: used for identifying this device when making a call

3.Authentication: login name and password if you have one set up on your vcs

4. Default Transport: TCP/UDP/TLS..Change this to whatever protocol you are using on your proxy (VCS)