Changes to the alias and name will synch into Unity just fine and always have.
If you delete the user in AD, Unity will automatically remove the user in SQL if you have proper rights configured for the directory facing account. This has been the case for some time - it was only necessary to manually remove users in Unity in earlier 3.x versions of Unity and/or if you didn't have rights to the deleted items container in AD (what triggers us to know a user has been deleted in AD).
Are you getting this error “Installer User Interface Mode Not Supported. The installer cannot run in this UI mode. To specify the interface mode, use the -i command-line option, followed by the UI mode identifier. The value UI mode identifiers...
The below trick might come handy when you have to add a new node to a cluster but you don't have or is unsure of the security password for the publisher. This procedure has been around for ages.
1) Login into the CLI of the Publisher.