cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

Help configuring DNS on CallManager 6.1

sean.demura
Level 1
Level 1

I'm new to cisco VoIP and also new to the company I am at so I am unaware of what to look for.

I need to change the DNS configuration on the call managers on our network.

We have 1 publisher and 3 subscribers, managing about 2000 phones in total.

I have read documentation online on how to change the DNS configurations, and that I need to restart the Tomcat service, and also restart the server.

My concern is failover issues.

What I want to know is, what happens when I change the DNS on one call manager and then reboot it. Will those phones be out of service while it reboots or will they failover temporarily to another subscriber?

Likewise, what happens when I change the settings on the Publisher?

Call Manager is version 6.1.3

6 Replies 6

anchoudh
Level 9
Level 9

Hi Sean,

Cisco Unified CallManager Redundancy Groups

Groups and clusters form logical collections of Cisco Unified  CallManager servers and their associated devices. Groups and clusters do  not necessarily relate to the physical locations of any of their  members. A group comprises a prioritized list of up to three Cisco  Unified CallManager servers. You can associate each group with one or  more device pools to provide call-processing redundancy. You use Cisco  Unified CallManager Administration to define the groups, to specify  which Cisco Unified CallManager servers belong to each group, and to  assign a Cisco Unified CallManager group to each device pool. Each group  must contain a primary Cisco Unified CallManager, and it may contain  one or two backup Cisco Unified CallManager servers. The order in which  you list the Cisco Unified CallManager servers in a group determines the  priority order.

Cisco Unified CallManager groups provide both redundancy and recovery: