Views
Helpful
Replies

Installing Unity With Domino

JustForVoice_2
Level 4
Level 4

Hi all,

I am preparing to install Unity with Domino and this is my first attempt.

In Unity Design guide I read the following:

If the Cisco Unity server is a member server, it should reside in the same highly available and connected network as a domain controller for that domain.

The Cisco Unity server should reside in the same highly available and connected network as the address book servers, the message store servers, and the mail drop server, or the customer will experience delays in message access, in directory replication, and in directory lookups.

In the first paragraph, Unity and Domain Controller in the same subnet.

In the second one, Unity and Domino in the same subnet.

What if the Domino and DC in different subnet??

One more thing if the DC is 2008 server is there any special considerations??

9 Replies 9

William Bell
VIP Alumni
VIP Alumni

Well, I can see how you could interpret the language that way but that is not the intended interpretation. The "network" in this example is referring to your corporate LAN/MAN/WAN not an individual subnet on the LAN/MAN/WAN. Essentially, what Cisco is getting at is that they recommend you deploy your Unity server in a way where it has redundant network paths between itself and the DC/GC, address book servers, message store servers, etc. Moreover, the redundant network paths should provide adequate bandwidth.