The dumpster folder is only used by MSM - it's, in fact, created by MSM (if you've never run MSM you wont see this folder at all).
The MSM can optionally move messages into this folder rather than deleting them entirely "just in case" someone freaks out and wants to pull them back before they're flushed. It's all the folder is used for.
Ok. So the "Unity Dumpster" counts against the users mailbox limits configured in Exchange, correct?
The issue I am having is as follows:
1. MSM is loaded so users have this Unity Dumpster folder
2. The COS for all users is set to NOT move deleted messages to the deleted items folder.
So..if the user deletes a message from the TUI and the COS is set as stated above, will the message be moved to the Unity Dumpster? Or will it be permanently deleted because of the COS? It appears its moved to the Unity Dumpster and can only be cleared out by MSM.
Secondly, it appears that if a user deletes a message using Unity Inbox in this same environment, it does NOT get moved to the Unity Dumpster OR deleted items folder.
I just want a handle on this because peoples mailboxes are filling up and I need to make sure I understand where everything is coming from.
No, if they delete messages from over the phone and the COS is setup to not move items to the deleted items folder, it's removed entirely - it is not moved to the Unity Dumpster folder - the Unity conversation has no knowledge of this folder and can't use it even if it wanted to.
Not sure what you're seeing but I'm quite certain messages deleted over the phone can only either be permanantly removed or sent to the delted items folder.
Sounds like maybe MSM is moving messages from deleted items to the dumpster on you and that's what you're seeing - just a guess, though.
Are you getting this error “Installer User Interface Mode Not Supported. The installer cannot run in this UI mode. To specify the interface mode, use the -i command-line option, followed by the UI mode identifier. The value UI mode identifiers...
The below trick might come handy when you have to add a new node to a cluster but you don't have or is unsure of the security password for the publisher. This procedure has been around for ages.
1) Login into the CLI of the Publisher.