Views
Helpful
Replies

Dual FlexFlash - Secondary Unhealthy state

pettergjersvold
Level 1
Level 1

Hello,

I just bought 2x C220 M3 USC servers and both comes with 2x flash cards for FlexFlash. The issue I have on both is that the secondary card on both servers comes up as unhealthy state.

I tried to replace one of them with a new flash card but even that comes up as unhealthy. I'm new to this setup so I have a feeling that I'm missing something. All flash cards are Cisco 16GB.

On one of the servers I did a firmware update but that did not help either. The card doesn't even show up on the boot menu (but I guess its because the Virtual Partition is broken).

Any tips on what might be causing this issue?

Thanks 

3 Replies 3

Walter Dey
VIP Alumni
VIP Alumni

The FlexFlash controller does not support RAID-1 sync (mirror rebuild). If the SD cards are in a degraded
RAID state, or if any metadata errors are reported by the controller, you must run the FlexFlash scrub
policy to pair the cards for RAID. For more information about the FlexFlash scrub policy, see Scrub
Policy, on page 406. The following conditions might result in degraded RAID or metadata errors:

◦Inserting a new or used SD card in one slot, when the server already has an SD card populated in
the second slot.

◦Inserting two SD cards from different servers.

• The server firmware version must be at 2.2(1a) or higher.
Cisco UCS Manager GUI Configuration Guide, Release 2.2

http://www.cisco.com/c/en/us/td/docs/unified_computing/ucs/sw/gui/config/guide/2-2/b_UCSM_GUI_Configuration_Guide_2_2.pdf

p. 404 ff

Great info, thanks.

I'll give it a try tomorrow morning.