cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

FEX Uplink and Server Side Ports

dakota2828
Level 1
Level 1

I am very new to the UCS environment and have to get up to speed fairly quickly. I have decided to start with the Blade chassis. But have a few questions.

I am hoping someone can clarify how serverside ports are assigned to uplink ports withing a 2204XP and 2208XP.

My understanding is that server side ports are assigned to uplinks based on the number of uplink configured to the FI.

Once the FEX is initialised the ports are hardcoded.

Assuming 2  (6200 series) FI and 2 ( 2204) FEX,

2 uplinks from each FEX to thier respective FI

8 half width blades in the chassis.

My understanding is;

UpLink 1  port would be assigned  Blades ( 1, 3, 5 7) and Uplink 2  Blades ( 2, 4, 6, 8)

Question: Which ports are active for each blade and on which FEX.

For Example  Blade 1 assigned to Uplink 1 on FEX A with failover on FEX B  uplink 1

Blade 3 assigned to Uplink 1 on FEX B with failover on FEX A uplink 1

Thanks in advance folks..

2 Accepted Solutions

Accepted Solutions

Keny Perez
Level 8
Level 8

Hello and welcome to the community,

"My understanding is that server side ports are assigned to uplinks based on the number of uplink configured to the FI."

The server ports are assigned to uplinks ports based on either automatic (load balanced through the uplink interfaces available) or manual pinning (LAN Pin Groups hard coded)

2 FIs and 2 IOMs 2204 with 2 cables on each IOM: "UpLink 1  port would be assigned  Blades ( 1, 3, 5 7) and Uplink 2  Blades ( 2, 4, 6, 8)"  << This is correct, odd blades through odd ports and even blades through even ports.

Which ports are active for each blade and on which FEX.?

In this case with a 2204, the IOM provides 16 internal ports, 2 for each blade and you can check which of those two is active with the command "Show platform software woodside sts" from the FEX mode which is achieved with the follwoing commands:

UCS# connect iom