Views
Helpful
Replies

Install all drivers + vNIC/vHBA configuration on W2k8R2 on B200M3 server

delahais
Level 1
Level 1

Hi everybody,

I am a network engineer and rather a newbe on system…

I have just installed a w2k8R2 64bit on a B200M3 in our new UCS architecture (local storage; W2k8 as bare metal OS)

3 questions:

• What is the best way to install all W2k8R2 drivers for this B200M3 server ? At present, I have many unknown hardware; I have just install manually the drivers for VIC 1240 by using ucs-bxxx-drivers.2.0.3b.iso or/and ucs-bxxx-utils-windows.2.0.3.iso. I looked for a exe to apply all W2k8R2 drivers for B200M3 but I could not find it.
  • The Service Profile of this server allowed 3 vlans : 1 natif + 2 tagged. In the properties of the network card under W2k8, I could not have any option to active the tagged. How can we do that?
  • The Service Profile of this server has 2 vHBA. How can i configurate the failover between fabricA and FabricB

Many thanks in advance.

Nicolas.

4 Replies 4

padramas
Cisco Employee
Cisco Employee

Hello Nicolas,

You are on the right track. Mount the ucs-bxxx-drivers.2.0.3b.iso image via vmedia and browse it from Windows OS.

1) Intel Chipset

2) FNIC ( HBA )

3) ENIC ( Network )

Currently, there is no one-click option to install necessary drivers based on server model. The following link helps you to navigate the ISO folder

http://www.cisco.com/en/US/docs/unified_computing/ucs/os-install-guides/windows/BSERIES-WINDOWS_appendix_0100.html

If you have many such installations to do, then you might want to create custom W2K8 image with necessary drivers built into it.

2) VLAN tagging

I assume you have single vNIC that allows 3 VLANs and want the OS to tag the traffic. I do not see VLAN tagging in ENIC driver properties. I will find more information on it.

If not, you can create three nics and UCS vNIC will tag the traffic as defined in the service profile.