Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

no compatible network adapters found - UCSC C220 M3S

Hi all

I am a little new at the Cisco servers so here is my question.

I have been trying to install esxi on our new C220 M3S server.

But after the installation I get to the esxi screen it says "No compatible network adapters found. Please consult ...... "

Any sugestions to what could be wrong ?

I have tried to install different versions of the esxi Cisco custom image (5.5 5.1 5.0) with the same result.

/Thomas

1 Accepted Solution

Accepted Solutions

Manuel Velasco
Cisco Employee
Cisco Employee

Hi Thomas,

It is possible that the optionROM for the onboard adapter is not enable.  Try to enable it in the BIOS, you can do it via the CIMC (see cimc_enable_optionrom attached ). You also want to verify this option gets enable in the bios.  You can get into the bios by pressing f2 during boot up (see BIOS_Option_ROM attached)

Also if these are disable you might need to run through the installation again.   See the Cisco custom image link below for ESXi 5.5.  I noticed that you are using ESXi 5.5 Update 1, but this is still not supported.

Download CISCO Custom Image for ESXi 5.5.0 GA

https://my.vmware.com/web/vmware/details?productId=353&downloadGroup=OEM-ESXI55GA-CISCO

View solution in original post

17 Replies 17

Walter Dey
VIP Alumni
VIP Alumni

Hi Thomas

I assume this is a standalone Server ? what is the Hardware configuration ? which Network adaptor ? VIC-1225 ?

ESXi has a the proper enic/fnic Driver bundled.

Hi wdey

Yes you assume correct. This is a standalone server.

Hardware wise this is a C220 M3S with two E5-2620-V2. 4 x 8 GB RAM. 4 x 300 GB Disk set up to Raid-5 on the 2008M-8i Mezzanine Card. And finally this server was shipped with the Flexible Flash "module" (I cant even remember we ordered that, but it was in there ... so :-) )