cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

UCS GUI on C240

Evan Ray
Level 1
Level 1

I would like to bring in Cisco UCS in our environment.  I'm new to UCS, and would love to take advantage of this opportunity to learn UCS.  Now are budget is low, so we were looking at bringing on a couple C240 servers to create a HA environment.  I was told by a colleague that the GUI for the Cisco UCS server is only found on the blade servers.  Is this accurate?  Basically where you configure the fabric and such, so I wanted to double check on the forums.

1 Accepted Solution

Accepted Solutions

On April 2009, Cisco disrupted the computing world by announcing its Fabric Computing solution, the Unified Computing Platform. Five years later,  UCS became (Cisco UCS #1 x86 Blade Server Platform In The Americas).

There are many differentiators, but the main is the scale out of UCS with regards to Capex and Opex.

A so called UCS domain of up to 160 servers are managed as one entity; this includes Ethernet and Fibrechannel connectivity, servers (BIOS, I/O adaptor, CIMC,...).

So with 2 physical servers, you are of course at the low limit; I know many SMB customers, who started with 4-5 blades and one chassis, extending this after a few months.

miniUCS is exactly addressing this market: remote/branch offices and SMBs having requirements that fall within the 4-6 server range.

View solution in original post

8 Replies 8

Walter Dey
VIP Alumni
VIP Alumni

C-series servers can run standalone, or integrated with UCS Manager (GUI); the latter requires additional components, like fabric interconnects. see eg.

http://www.cisco.com/c/en/us/td/docs/unified_computing/ucs/c-series_integration/ucsm2-2/b_C-Series-Integration_UCSM2-2/b_C-Series-Integration_UCSM2-2_chapter_01.html

Thanks wdey!!  Is that an added cost?  Is that something I need to tell my Cisco vendor prior to purchasing, or can I add on what's needed later?