Cisco Support Community
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Users might experience few discrepancies in Search results. We are working on this on our side. We apologize for the inconvenience it may have caused.

Basic design questions

I have a couple basic design questions. I am very new to VOIP and want to make sure we are going in the right direction for equipment. We have a simple set up that we are planning out. Approximately 50 ->80 users with the same amount of PCs and phones. The PCs may be switched through the phones to avoid multiple Ethernet drops. Like I said we are at the beginning stages.

- What type of switch would you recommend to switch these phones and PCs? We will try to VLAN the PCS and phones to keep them separate. We will also try to use PoE.

- If the phone has a port and can act as a switch for the PC, can we VLAN within the phone itself? We want the PCs and phones on different subnets. Any suggestions would help.

Any insight on the very basic design aspects would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks!

Shane

3 REPLIES
Silver

Re: Basic design questions

I would use the 65xx style switch with the PoE power supplies. You will need to segment the phones to a separate VLAN. I would use Private VLAN's for the phones. You will also have to look into using QOS to assure the voice traffic gets from point A to point Z within the MOS specs....

Super Bronze

Hi Shane

For that size install (unless you have loads of rack space and a pile of money the size of your office that you need to shift) I probably wouldn't use a 6500...

With that many users on a network (if you are daisy-chaining the PCs off the back of the phones) you are looking at a total port count of maybe 100 (given some extras for printers etc).