Views
Helpful
Replies

Configuring QoS over WAN Link

tsabsuavyaj
Level 1
Level 1

Hi,

I'm fairly new to VoIP and QoS and would like to have a better understanding of my current configuration below, in particular to the policy-map configuration.  By configuring with a priority 240, does this mean that on my T1 line, it is segregating 240 Kbps for voice traffic only when calls are being made or does it segregate 240 Kbps for voice traffic regardless?

Secondly, how can I configure the policy-map to give voice traffic the highest priority over data without segregation?  Many thanks in advance for any help anyone can give.

!

access-list 102 permit udp 192.168.100.0 0.0.0.255 any range 4000 44000
access-list 102 permit ip 192.168.100.0 0.0.0.255 any dscp ef
!
!
class-map match-all voip
match access-group 102
!
!
policy-map Voice
class voip
  priority 240
!
!
interface FastEthernet0/0
description Data
ip address 192.168.50.1 255.255.255.0
duplex auto
speed auto
!
!
interface FastEthernet0/1
description Voice
ip address 192.168.100.1 255.255.255.0
duplex auto
speed auto
!
!
interface Serial0/0
description T-1 to Remote-Site
ip address 192.168.200.1 255.255.255.252
service-policy output Voice

!

2 Accepted Solutions

Accepted Solutions

daniel.dib
Level 7
Level 7

Quality of Service (QoS) is applied when congestion is detected. This is usually detected by that the TX-ring is full, meaning no further packets can be queued to be transmitted. Congestion can also be artifically applied by applying a shaper which forces queuing to happen. Normally the queueing applied is First In First Out (FIFO) which is not good especially when you have voice traffic.