Views
Helpful
Replies

Difficulty setting up SPA3102 to make outbound PSTN calls

davidgeorgencl
Level 1
Level 1

Hi all.

I am in Spain at the moment and trying to set up a SPA3102 so that I can make VOIP calls (using freecall.com) but also be able to make PSTN calls from the same phone. What I ideally want is to be able to use the PSTN line for national calls, and use VOIP for international and mobile calls. This is the first time I´ve worked with something like this so unfortunately I have no experience, although my knowledge of computers and networking in general is reasonable.

I first tried setting it up following the instructions on FreeCall's website (i.e. filling in the Proxy and Registration section). This worked flawlessly for making calls via Freecall, however I could see no way of allowing me to dial out via PSTN.

I then found http://www.aoakley.com/articles/2008-01-08.php and followed the instructions (bearing in mind that I am in Spain so some of the settings may be different here, but I could not find a way of obtaining them).

When I get to the stage where I test the PSTN line with the unit switched on (i.e. before I fill in the VOIP details), I hear a Spanish dial tone (not the one the SPA3102 usually generates) and I am able to make calls (sometimes, other times the dial tone just keeps playing). When I dial the keys there is a huge amount of echo on the keytone and also my voice. I suspect that is why the success of making a call is intermittent. Once the call connects this improves somewhat though.

I then filled in my VOIP details under the Gateway1 section (leaving the Proxy and Registration section blank), and changed the dialing plan to (x.<:@gw1>). Upon testing the phone again, it was exactly the same as before - Spanish dial tone and lots of echo, using the PSTN line.

The only way I have found that enables me to get back the SPA3102 dialtone is to change the following setting under Proxy and Registration:

Make Call Without Reg: Yes