Cisco Support Community
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Community Member

No way out, cat and mouse problem with UC520

Hello all,

I've been spending some time now (many days) trying to repair a UC520 by reading all the posting here. Everything I read here did not help me at this time. As time is critical to me now i really need your help. I need to make a demo for a customer.

The unit is a UC520-8U-2BRI.

I went through a lot of problems which I have tried to repair by reading here. to be honest nothing helped me.

The idea is that, now I am with the compact flash formated. I have both 7.0.4 pack with CCA2.1 and 8.0.2 with CCA 2.2 (4).

1. First I put IOS file and default config and rebooted the unit (with both version mentioned above).

2. I connect with CCA and tried an upgrade (all), to have phone packages and everything. Instantly I get an error box: "Cannot retrieve CUE version". I read a lot about this problem but nothing helped me:

---

UC520#service-module integrated-Service-Engine 0/0 status
Service Module is Cisco Integrated-Service-Engine0/0
Service Module supports session via TTY line 2
Service Module is failed
Service Module heartbeat-reset is enabled
Service Module status is not available

UC520#sh ip int brief

--output ommited---

In0/0                      10.1.10.2       YES TFTP   up                    up

UC520#service-module integrated-Service-Engine 0/0 session
Trying 10.1.10.2, 2002 ... Open

I can reach its IP Address using ping. I can connect to it. I tried also to reloaded. Nothing..the same result.

I suspect is a problem of CUE. but as i read here could not find the status above: "Service Module status is not available"

3. Before I encountered another problem, when trying to configure telephony/voice. I get a box that says: "Operation in progress/Loading Voice related data ..." and after a while a box appears that says: Error:Voice: java.lang.NullPointerException. I press ok an then the first dialog box says "Operation Completed" but i do not have any OK button. So I need to press Cancel, and so can not configure telephony.

4. I also tried Telephony Wizard. It gets stucked at 99%.

5. I even changed the Compact Flash, first i suspected it has a problem but i was not so lucky.

And now I don't know what to do anymore...

If you have any idea please share it with me . ALso if you need anyother info please let me know.

Thanks a lot,

Dan

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
Community Member

Re: No way out, cat and mouse problem with UC520

Hi Dan,

Today at work I was called out to a job where the AIM module on a 2851 was in the same state as yours, the first thought that come to my mind "Are there any windows open I can jump out of"

In total I spent about 3 hours on it to get it back alive, it all happened because of a bad shut down, the building had a bad power outage and the generators didn't kick in, for some reason the CUE didn't boot up in normal process.

I know you have a UC-500, but i am confident you can resolve your proble, I want you to try something out for me and i know you probably allready have, but just try it again for me please.

  • service-module  integrated-Service-Engine 0/0 session clear
  • service-module  integrated-Service-Engine 0/0 reset
  • service-module  integrated-Service-Engine 0/0 session

You should I hope see the CUE module go through its reset procedure, assuming that the operating system is still in tact and you do not have a fried CF card, and or a corrupt AIM module, the reset command should for it to reboot as such.

You should see a lot of chatter on the scree, follow this all the way through and if you can grab some screen shots for me and post them on here, as many as you can and if you have to zip them all up into one folder.

Lets see if we can get this to work for you, I aint giving up just yet

Cheers,

David.

Cheers, David Trad. **When you rate a persons post, you are indicating a thank you or that it helped, but at the same time you are also helping to maintain the community spirit - You don't have to rate posts and you wont be looked down upon :) *
21 REPLIES
Community Member

Re: No way out, cat and mouse problem with UC520

Hi Dan,

Firstly DEEP breath friend

Secondly don't panic

OK lets see what we can do.

Have you done the following?

  • Shut the system down by unplugging the power, counting to 10 and then plugging the power back in?
  • When you used CCA to reset the system to factory defaults (Using CCA 2.2.4) did you tick both boxes? "Reset to factory" & "Cleanup" (Not word for word I know but its hey close enough )

    NOTE: The CUE does not reload if you issue the command in CME, it is a common mistake and if IP addresses have been changed on the service engine and the engine is not properly reloaded you can also run into this problem.

If both of them failed then can you try the following:

  • service-module integrated-Service-Engine 0/0 reload
  • Straight after you enter that command (And i mean next line straight away) do "service-module integrated-Service-Engine 0/0 session"
  • If it errors out or times out, do it again straight away
  • If you are let in to the service module sit back and watch it load up, do not do anything, just monitor it and see if there are any errors that show up and take note of them (Post them here if you can)

Do you have the following?

  • SMARTnet on the system? This can give you access to TAC and will expedite the resolution of the issue you are facing (This is an important thing to have, i liken it to insurance or roadside assistance, one day you will kick yourself for not having it)
  • If no SMARTnet then do you have ability to provide remote access to the system and console cable access to the system?

Hope to hear back from you soon with a positive outcome (I am hoping the hard shut down and reload will fix it).

Cheers,

David.

Cheers, David Trad. **When you rate a persons post, you are indicating a thank you or that it helped, but at the same time you are also helping to maintain the community spirit - You don't have to rate posts and you wont be looked down upon :) *
Community Member

Re: No way out, cat and mouse problem with UC520

Hello David,

I started in the first palce with a deep breath...just to make sure...

No succes with the shuting down the unit and waiting for 10seconds. the upgrade gives me the same message: "Canonot retreive CUE version"

I tried now, to be sure, the part with reset to factory (i only have checkbox-es with reset to factory and reset, no Clean-Up). It does not work, as, on flash, I have only IOS image and default configuration file that comes in the UC8.0.2 package.It gives an error :" Current factory default configuration and Software Package on this device are out of sync, ..." and that I need to upgrade to the latest version of SW PAck. But when i try to do this, again, I go back to the message: "Cannot retreive CUE version".

The message with the clean-up is when going for upgrading the system choosing "All".

When choosing"service-module integrated-Service-Engine 0/0 reload" it comes to.

---

UC520#service-module integrated-Service-Engine 0/0 reload
Do you want to proceed with reload?[confirm]
Trying to reload Service Module Integrated-Service-Engine0/0.

--

UC520#service-module integrated-Service-Engine 0/0 session
Trying 10.1.10.2, 2002 ... Open

--

But no message here. Then I hit enter:

--Enter runlevel:

--

The unit has no smart net, it's a demo unit.

If you need anything please let me know.

Thanks,

Dan

Community Member

Re: No way out, cat and mouse problem with UC520

Hi Dan,

If your up for it, go to (http://www.teamviewer.com/download/index.aspx) and download the quick support version, run it and then go to my profile and e-mail me the ID and password.

I will look at it for you remotely and see if i can get some action with it.

If possible and you are willing to organise a remote desktop session, can you get a console cable working on it? If not it is nto a major deal just any access to it will be suitable enough.

Cheers,

David.

Cheers, David Trad. **When you rate a persons post, you are indicating a thank you or that it helped, but at the same time you are also helping to maintain the community spirit - You don't have to rate posts and you wont be looked down upon :) *
Community Member

Re: No way out, cat and mouse problem with UC520

Unfortunately i can not set up you a remote connection.

Do you have any idea of how to overcome my UC520 problems, to do it myself?

Thank you.

Dan

Community Member

Re: No way out, cat and mouse problem with UC520

Hi Dan,

If you session into the service engine again do you still get this?

--Enter runlevel:

Sometime when you log into the CUE module you need to press enter a couple of times before a prompt shows up, but the above if memory servers me right means it is about 1/4 of the way through its boot up process.

Also the CUE can take quite a long time to boot up especially after it has tried to recover itself, I think if you can see the above and you waited you would see it working through the boot up process.

So if you wanted to, you can do the reload command again on the service module and attemp another login to it, then watch it run through its boot up process, when it is complete it should display a message "System online" and you can press enter twice to get the command prompt.

If still no go, and without remote access I am not sure where to go from there, normally I have access to a machine that has similar problems and I can work my way through it, I am a hands on person especially when it comes to fault finding and trouble shooting.

Cheers,

David.

Cheers, David Trad. **When you rate a persons post, you are indicating a thank you or that it helped, but at the same time you are also helping to maintain the community spirit - You don't have to rate posts and you wont be looked down upon :) *
Community Member

Re: No way out, cat and mouse problem with UC520

Thanks a lot David, you are too kind

After multiple searched in forum I found a topic that has exactly the same problem as mine:

https://supportforums.cisco.com/message/3089799#3089799?tstart=0

I will try to manualy install CUE and everything. The guy in that post succeded, and it seems is the only way to do it.

I will let you know.

Thanks

Dan

Community Member

Re: No way out, cat and mouse problem with UC520

Hi Dan,

Good luck with the update and i wish you all the sucess with it.

Cheers,

David.

Cheers, David Trad. **When you rate a persons post, you are indicating a thank you or that it helped, but at the same time you are also helping to maintain the community spirit - You don't have to rate posts and you wont be looked down upon :) *
Community Member

Re: No way out, cat and mouse problem with UC520

Hello ,

for some reason(s) I can not login into CUE. It just want boot or something.

I tried reloaded many times then immediately connect to it:

1.service-module integrated-Service-Engine 0/0 reload

2. immediately, service-module integrated-Service-Engine 0/0 status

     - Here nothing shows up, no message, nothing, and i waited a lot. During this time the status message was:

     ___

     UC520#service-module integrated-Service-Engine 0/0 status
     Service Module is Cisco Integrated-Service-Engine0/0
     Service Module supports session via TTY line 2
     Service Module is trying to recover from reset/shutdown
     Service Module heartbeat-reset is enabled
     Service Module status is not available

     ___

     If i hit enter, at any time, one, twice I receive:

     Enter runlevel:
    

     No CUE promt

3. After some time the status is:

     __

     UC520#service-module integrated-Service-Engine 0/0 status
      Service Module is Cisco Integrated-Service-Engine0/0
      Service Module supports session via TTY line 2
      Service Module is tailed
      Service Module heartbeat-reset is enabled
      Service Module status is not available

     ___

I think CUE module might be broken.

Do you have any other idea?

Tnx

Dan

Community Member

Re: No way out, cat and mouse problem with UC520

Hi Dan,

I wish I had something for you but I suspect that this problem has gone beyond my ability. I would have liked to look at it first hand sometimes being able to work on the issue triggers further thoughts and processes, but I understand and appreciate that this is not possible.

If you have SMARTnet on the box then I would suggest getting TAC involved, maybe the HDD/Flash card has gone belly up, I haven't seen that happen many times but it can happen.

Alternatively you could wait and see if one of the Cisco Team Member responds with any ideas.

I really am sorry I couldn't be of any further assistance to you.

Cheers,

David.

Cheers, David Trad. **When you rate a persons post, you are indicating a thank you or that it helped, but at the same time you are also helping to maintain the community spirit - You don't have to rate posts and you wont be looked down upon :) *
Community Member

Re: No way out, cat and mouse problem with UC520

Thanks a lot David!

This morning I opened the UC520 box, and pull out the inside CF Card (1GB) which I think is used by the CUE Services Module/AIM (no info found on this). I tried to read it with a card reader. the message was: "The drive is not formated, would you like to format it now?". I don't know the file system that is on this CF Card. Maybe someone riding this can help. But the external CF for IOS and the other file can be read (is FAT). Maybe the inside CF card might be broken. I don't know what to say...

Thanks again.

Dan

Community Member

Re: No way out, cat and mouse problem with UC520

Hi Dan,

Windows will most likely not be able to read it, the CF card will be using the ext file system which is Linux based, if I am not mistaken the CUE uses Powerpc Linux which is a really small and nice linux distro.

You would be able to read it in a Linux Distro but again this serves no purpose as you can not really do anything with it.

You might have to look at other avenues for now, what they are I am not sure at this stage, I have never tried to restore a CUE CF Card before within linux, but you have now spurred an interest in me

Cheers,

David.

Cheers, David Trad. **When you rate a persons post, you are indicating a thank you or that it helped, but at the same time you are also helping to maintain the community spirit - You don't have to rate posts and you wont be looked down upon :) *
Community Member

Re: No way out, cat and mouse problem with UC520

Hi Dan,

I have had to fix a UCME version (not the uc500, but a 2811) with a bad CUE (that I caused).  It was a time consuming process, but I was able to do it.  I don't have the document that I used anymore, but as David has suggested it could be done remotely.  I will try to find the document that I used.  I can say that it took about 3 hours to do the recovery.

Thanks!

Chris

Community Member

Re: No way out, cat and mouse problem with UC520

Hello Chris,

if you find the document please share it with me .

Thanls a lot.

Dan

Community Member

Re: No way out, cat and mouse problem with UC520

Hi Dan,

Were you ever able to see the boot up process when you reload/reset CUE? Can you try this-

Session into CUE-

UC520#service-module integrated-Service-Engine 0/0 session
Trying  10.1.10.2, 2002 ... Open

Then open up a separate telnet session to the router and reload/reset the CUE monitoring the other session-

UC520#service-module integrated-Service-Engine 0/0 reset/reload

I'm interested to see if anything shows up in the first telnet session you have into CUE.

-Anthony

Community Member

Re: No way out, cat and mouse problem with UC520

Hello Anthony,

I did that but not on a separate Telnet session. I did it on the cli: first reload/reset and then immediately on the console I made a ssesion to integrated-Service-Engine 0/0. Nothing appeared. During this on a telnet session I monitored the state: always reported "Service Module is trying to recover from reset/shutdown". After some time (like 1/2h)  the result was a failure: "Service Module is tailed". More...when a connection I made on CUE, and hit enter key, once/twice,  I never had any CUE promt, always: "Enter runlevel:". This was strange because I have never seen this in any posts/discussion.

Do you think would be different if i tried to see the boot process on a telnet session?

Thanks.

Dan

Community Member

Re: No way out, cat and mouse problem with UC520

Hi Dan,

Today at work I was called out to a job where the AIM module on a 2851 was in the same state as yours, the first thought that come to my mind "Are there any windows open I can jump out of"

In total I spent about 3 hours on it to get it back alive, it all happened because of a bad shut down, the building had a bad power outage and the generators didn't kick in, for some reason the CUE didn't boot up in normal process.

I know you have a UC-500, but i am confident you can resolve your proble, I want you to try something out for me and i know you probably allready have, but just try it again for me please.

  • service-module  integrated-Service-Engine 0/0 session clear
  • service-module  integrated-Service-Engine 0/0 reset
  • service-module  integrated-Service-Engine 0/0 session

You should I hope see the CUE module go through its reset procedure, assuming that the operating system is still in tact and you do not have a fried CF card, and or a corrupt AIM module, the reset command should for it to reboot as such.

You should see a lot of chatter on the scree, follow this all the way through and if you can grab some screen shots for me and post them on here, as many as you can and if you have to zip them all up into one folder.

Lets see if we can get this to work for you, I aint giving up just yet

Cheers,

David.

Cheers, David Trad. **When you rate a persons post, you are indicating a thank you or that it helped, but at the same time you are also helping to maintain the community spirit - You don't have to rate posts and you wont be looked down upon :) *
Community Member

Re: No way out, cat and mouse problem with UC520

Hello David,

I am almost 100% sure that I issued these commands the other days and did not work...But it was not today...'cause today it worked, i mean at least I have an output. . These is the output after reset of CUE Module:

---

UC520#service-module  integrated-Service-Engine 0/0 session clear
[confirm]
[OK]
UC520#service-module  integrated-Service-Engine 0/0 reset
Use reset only to recover from shutdown or failed state
Warning: May lose data on the the NVRAM, nonvolatile file system or unsaved configuration!
Do you want to reset?[confirm]
Trying to reload Service Module Integrated-Service-Engine0/0.

UC520#service-module  integrated-Service-Engine 0/0 session
Trying 10.1.10.2, 2002 ... Open
Bootmon: reading primary bootloader image
Bootmon: calling bootloader


Cisco ServiceEngine Bootloader Version: 1.0.3
(Jul  6 2007 - 10:15:37) MPC83XX

Resetting devices ....Done.
mac address for internal ethernet 00:1b:8f:ad:e1:be

Please enter '***' to change boot configuration:
ServicesEngine Bootloader Version : 1.0.3

kern_sz: 1208412
bl_boot_cf_cmd root=/dev/hda1 install_root=ide ro plat=freddo
## Booting image at 04000000 ...
   Image Name:   Linux-2.6.11.11-ppc
   Image Type:   PowerPC Linux Kernel Image (gzip compressed)
   Data Size:    1208348 Bytes =  1.2 MB
   Load Address: 00000000
   Entry Point:  00000000
   Verifying Checksum ... OK
   Uncompressing Kernel Image ... OK
Linux version 2.6.11.11 (ealyon@fndn-bld-system8) (gcc version 3.4.3) #1 Wed May 6 17:42:23 PDT 2009

Built 1 zonelists

Kernel command line: root=/dev/hda1 install_root=ide ro plat=freddo

IPIC (128 IRQ sources, 8 External IRQs) at fe000700

PID hash table entries: 4096 (order: 12, 65536 bytes)

Dentry cache hash table entries: 131072 (order: 7, 524288 bytes)

Inode-cache hash table entries: 65536 (order: 6, 262144 bytes)

Memory: 514944k available (2036k kernel code, 552k data, 124k init, 0k highmem)

Kernel Log Buffers loaded at 0xdfe80000, size: 524288 bytes

Trace Buffers loaded at 0xdff00000, size: 1048576 bytes

in atrace_init

Using existing trace log

Mount-cache hash table entries: 512 (order: 0, 4096 bytes)

NET: Registered protocol family 16

PCI: Probing PCI hardware

PCI: Cannot allocate resource region 0 of device 0000:00:00.0

PCI: Cannot allocate resource region 2 of device 0000:00:00.0

PCI: Failed to allocate mem resource #2:80000000@80000000 for 0000:00:00.0

SCSI subsystem initialized

usbcore: registered new driver usbfs

usbcore: registered new driver hub

devfs: 2004-01-31 Richard Gooch (rgooch@atnf.csiro.au)

devfs: devfs_debug: 0x0

devfs: boot_options: 0x1

Cisco ContentEngine Flash Driver Loaded Version 0.02

Serial: 8250/16550 driver $Revision: 1.90 $ 4 ports, IRQ sharing disabled

ttyS0 at MMIO 0xe0004500 (irq = 9) is a 16550A

ttyS1 at MMIO 0xe0004600 (irq = 10) is a 16550A

io scheduler noop registered

io scheduler anticipatory registered

io scheduler deadline registered

io scheduler cfq registered

RAMDISK driver initialized: 16 RAM disks of 32768K size 1024 blocksize

loop: loaded (max 8 devices)

GFAR: MTU = 1500 (frame size=1518,rx_buffer_size=1536,truesize=1784,sk_buff=152)

eth0: Gianfar Ethernet Controller Version 1.1, 00:1b:8f:ad:e1:be

eth0: Running with NAPI enabled

Weight = 32

eth0: 32/32 RX/TX BD ring size

eth0: PHY is PHY-less

GFAR: MTU = 1500 (frame size=1518,rx_buffer_size=1536,truesize=1784,sk_buff=152)

eth1: Gianfar Ethernet Controller Version 1.1, 00:1b:8f:ad:e1:bf

eth1: Running with NAPI enabled

Weight = 32

eth1: 32/32 RX/TX BD ring size

eth1: PHY is PHY-less

Uniform Multi-Platform E-IDE driver Revision: 7.00alpha2

ide: Assuming 33MHz system bus speed for PIO modes; override with idebus=xx

hda: probing with STATUS(0x50) instead of ALTSTATUS(0x0a)

hda: STI Flash 7.4.2, CFA DISK drive

hdb: probing with STATUS(0x50) instead of ALTSTATUS(0x0a)

hdb: probing with STATUS(0x51) instead of ALTSTATUS(0x0a)

ide0 at 0xe1000000-0xe1000007,0xe100280d on irq 17

hda: max request size: 128KiB

hda: 2001888 sectors (1024 MB), CHS=1986/16/63

/dev/ide/host0/bus0/target0/lun0: p1 p2

ehci_hcd 0000:00:12.2: EHCI Host Controller

ehci_hcd 0000:00:12.2: irq 18, pci mem 0x7fffef00

ehci_hcd 0000:00:12.2: new USB bus registered, assigned bus number 1

ehci_hcd 0000:00:12.2: USB 2.0 initialized, EHCI 0.95, driver 10 Dec 2004

hub 1-0:1.0: USB hub found

hub 1-0:1.0: 2 ports detected

Initializing USB Mass Storage driver...

usbcore: registered new driver usb-storage

USB Mass Storage support registered.

i2c /dev entries driver

NET: Registered protocol family 2

IP: routing cache hash table of 4096 buckets, 32Kbytes

TCP established hash table entries: 131072 (order: 8, 1048576 bytes)

TCP bind hash table entries: 65536 (order: 6, 262144 bytes)

TCP: Hash tables configured (established 131072 bind 65536)

NET: Registered protocol family 1

NET: Registered protocol family 17

Exporting platform capabilities

/dev/ide/host0/bus0/target0/lun0: p1 p2

ReiserFS: hda1: found reiserfs format "3.6" with standard journal

ReiserFS: hda1: using ordered data mode

ReiserFS: hda1: journal params: device hda1, size 8192, journal first block 18, max trans len 1024, max batch 900, max commit age 30, max trans age 30

ReiserFS: hda1: checking transaction log (hda1)

ReiserFS: hda1: Using r5 hash to sort names

VFS: Mounted root (reiserfs filesystem) readonly.

Mounted devfs on /dev


INIT: version 2.86 booting

ReiserFS: warning: is_tree_node: node level 0 does not match to the expected one 1

ReiserFS: hda1: warning: vs-5150: search_by_key: invalid format found in block 164213. Fsck?

ReiserFS: hda1: warning: vs-13070: reiserfs_read_locked_inode: i/o failure occurred trying to find stat data of [8053 8093 0x0 SD]


INIT: No inittab file found


Enter runlevel:

---

I think the files on CUE CF are corupted (or the CF itself), possibly because of an inappropriate shutdown.

At least now I can enter boot loader menu ( *** ), and try to upgraded manualy.

Or do you have another sugestion?

Thanks again

Dan

Community Member

Re: No way out, cat and mouse problem with UC520

Hi Dan,

Get your FTP program ready, extract the CUE files from software pack 8.0.2 pr at the very least install version 3.2 (If you can any of the 7.0.X is best).

The fact that you can now repair the problem is a really good start, this is normally where I try to get to if the software on the module has gone south, you will be fine from now

Wish you success with the upgrade, I promise you I will have 2 extra drinks for you LOL

Cheers,

David.

Cheers, David Trad. **When you rate a persons post, you are indicating a thank you or that it helped, but at the same time you are also helping to maintain the community spirit - You don't have to rate posts and you wont be looked down upon :) *
Community Member

Re: No way out, cat and mouse problem with UC520

Please do so, 'cause I will also have some extra drinks.

Thanks forall your  the help.

Dan

Community Member

Re: No way out, cat and mouse problem with UC520

I have now an usable UC520 unit.

The manual upgrade of CUE went smooth and now it is working great: CCA and everything.

Thank you all and thank you David for your help.

See you soon on the forum.

Dan

Community Member

Re: No way out, cat and mouse problem with UC520

WoooooHoooooo \o/ \o/ \o/ \o/

I'll have those drinks for you now.

Cheers,

David.

Cheers, David Trad. **When you rate a persons post, you are indicating a thank you or that it helped, but at the same time you are also helping to maintain the community spirit - You don't have to rate posts and you wont be looked down upon :) *
1353
Views
0
Helpful
21
Replies
CreatePlease to create content