Views
Helpful
Replies

Novice User trying to setup UC540

AussieLes
Level 1
Level 1

Hi All,

I'm a novice CISCO user and trying to set up a UC540. Really appreciate any meaningful help and suggestions, thanks, Sorry if my questions are basic - I've found some of the forum terms confusing.  I thought the UC540 was meant to be fairly straightforward to install, especially using the Config Wizard.   Helfpul as I do not have the console experience.  Sadly I've come to grief.

UC540 is to replace a CISCO UC 500 series, burnt out by faulty ethernet cabling.  Alll cabling has been replaced and I'm now trying to install the UC540

Client Environment is a netgear modem/router connected to Bigpond. 

Plugged into it's ethernet port is the Cisco UC540.

Client setup had an ethernet cable from the Netgear modem/router plugged into AN ETHERNET port on the UC500.

Client also had an HP Proliant server set to be DHCP server, plugged into an ethernet port on the UC500.

Client has 4 Cisco IP phones and we connect PCs via PC port on phone

Additonally the default address for the UC540 is 192.168.10.1

Server acting as DHCP is at 192.168.17.10

I tried plugging cable from Netgear to UC540 but at first could not get internet access from a port connected into a UC540 port.

Only way I've gotten internet working is plugging server and modem into ethernet ports on the UC540.

If I connect my laptop at 192.168.10.11 and plug into ethernet port on UC540 I can use Cisco config assistant to discover and connect to UC540.

Setting UC540 to address 192.168.17.253 and pointing gateway and DNS to 192.16.17.10 gets internet to PCs connected to the phones.

Also relevant, unit is in and set to Australia

Phones are 201, 202, 203 and 204

Incoming phone lines are ISDN on say range 02 6655 1000 to 02 6655 1111. One of these is a fax line, say 02 6655 1111

Problem 1