Cisco Support Community
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Community Member

UC500 and switching to G729 codec for SIP trunking and phone to phone calling

Hi,

I've been doing a fair amount of searching to try to find a simple tutorial or list of CLI commands, but I am trying to change the voice codec on our UC500 from G711 ro G729 to save bandwidth.  Many of our UC500 deployments will be using Satellite for Internet access, and although I have proven that it works very well using G711, G729 could save our customers a great deal of bandwidth and money.

What I am seeing in the literature seems to suggest that the AA and voicemail cannot be reconfigured for G729, but can the SIP trunk, phone to phone calls on the network, and remote teleworker calls be configured for this alternate codec?  I'm a CLI newbie, so any help that anybody can give me to make this change would be excellent.  Thanks in advance,

Seth

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
Community Member

Re: UC500 and switching to G729 codec for SIP trunking and phone

Hi Seth,

Curiously, and I hate to ask such a basic question, what are the
commands required to get to the point where you are configuring the
ephone and not the DN?  I assume that once I have entered that mode in
the CLI, I just issue the command "codec g729r8", is this correct?  Or
was it meant to imply that I simply telnet into the ephone itself,
enter config mode, and enter the command?

As basic as you may think the questions is, doesnt really matter everyone on these forums are either here for help or to help others, and in any event it is always best to ask questions first before attempting to do something, i have learnt the hardway that doing things on your own steam when you know nothing about it is dangerous :)

Do the following commands:

1. Telnet or SSH into the UC-500 (What ever you prefer to use, my choice is SSH especially when doing it from a remote location)