cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

Anyone know of a way to block downloading of Anyconnect Profile from ASA?

scott.pendleton
Level 1
Level 1

I am a consultant and I connect to dozens of different ASAs. One of my customers created an anyconnect profile that downloads to my client when I connect to their ASA. The problem is that causes problems with some of my other connections I have to use. To purge I have to uninstall the Client, purge the AppData\Local\Cisco\Annyconnect... folder and then re-install. Anyone know of a way to block it, or an easier way to purge it from my client configuration?  I've tried creating a profile.xml with the profile editor, but that really kind of merges rather than purges.

**Mark all helpful posts and solutions**
1 Accepted Solution

Accepted Solutions

A specific VPN profile will be installed (on Windows 7) in the hidden directory C:\ProgramData\Cisco\Cisco AnyConnect Secure Mobility Client\Profile. 

The one showing up as default will copy itself into preferences.xml at C:\Users\<username>\AppData\Local\Cisco\Cisco AnyConnect Secure Mobility Client.

If you get rid of the latter, it should result in offending site's settings from affecting you adversely. 

View solution in original post

4 Replies 4

rvarelac
Level 7
Level 7

Hi scott.pendleton, 

Not really , Every client must accomplish with the policy on the ASA in order to connect properly.

If the AnyConnect version on the ASA is a later version than the one you use , it will do the upgrade automatically. 

Also the server can use webdeploy configuration , so you can download the AnyConnect version via webvpn.

Hope this helps.