Views
Helpful
Replies

ASA for incoming Remote Access VPN

GRANT3779
Spotlight
Spotlight

Hi All,

I'm looking to configure our ASA 5501 for incoming VPN clients.

My query is, the current Interfaces on the ASA are as follows..I want to assign any VPN clients an address on the 10.x.x.x network. Do I need an ASA interface on this network also? I'm unsure how my VPN clients would get onto the Inside network when using the 10.x.x.x address space. What do I need to do with regards to my Interfaces? Is there a way I can have my VPN clients use my Internal DHCP server instead of assigning a private scope on the ASA? I'm pretty new to ASA's...so any pointers would be good.

interface Ethernet0/0

nameif inside

security-level 90

ip address 172.16.4.15.x 255.255.252.0

!

interface Ethernet0/1

nameif dmz

security-level 50

ip address 172.16.199.25 255.255.255.0

!

interface Ethernet0/2

nameif outside

security-level 0

ip address 212.x.x.x 255.255.255.0

!

interface Ethernet0/3

nameif Voice

security-level 90

ip address 172.16.15.15 255.255.255.0

!

interface Management0/0

nameif management

security-level 100

ip address 172.16.10.15 255.255.255.0

management-only

12 Replies 12

Andrew Phirsov
Level 7
Level 7
Do I need an ASA interface on this network also?

No, you don't. Client will know that it has to send all the traffic throug the tunnel (If no split tunneling is enabled). It just will send everything to the ASA and ASA will route it towards the inside network, and vice-versa (Security Associations will tell them (client and ASA) wich traffic to send where). Plus, when client connects and ASA assigns to the client an IP address, ASA will install static route towards that IP address through the interface, to wich client connects.

DHCP is surely possible.

You can use this doc to guide you through the setup:

http://www.cisco.com/en/US/docs/security/asa/asa84/configuration/guide/vpn_ike.html

Thanks,