cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

Basic VPN Solution

anthonymcse
Level 1
Level 1

Hi, I'm new to the VPN game, please have patience with a newbie.

I need to setup a simple VPN with 1 or 2 remote users.

I don't need to much security, a simple user name and password would be adequate. Don't want certificates or the like.

I don't want to have to setup a VPN Server, I would prefer that the access router take care of all VPN details.

Once a user is connected, I want the user to have full access to the peer to peer network. After the VPN connection is made, I just need to Map a drive from a shared drive on a Win98 box to the VPN client. Just trying to get access to a MS Access database.

Client can get an ADSL line, they have a wireless solution right now.

OK, what is the most inexpensive hardware I need? I'm guessing the Cisco 827, but the online dox dont talk much about setting up a VPN with it.

Do I have to buy the Cisco VPN client software, or can I use Microsofts built in VPN software?

Any other details in setting up a basic VPN would be appreciated. I am not computer & network illiterate, just haven't done a VPN before. The articles online at the cisco web site seem fairly advanced, more geared to enterprise solutions, couldn't find anything on setting up a "simple" VPN.

Thanks!

2 Replies 2

m-verman
Level 1
Level 1

Anthony,

Perhaps you might want to consider using Microsoft(PPTP),as the VPN is achieved at software Level instead of configuring it @ Hardware Level(Router).

Otherwise see the advice given on the previous scenario the subject: VPN TO BUSINESS CLIENT. That might direct in the right direction.

For more info on below view the (MS PPTP whitepapers)