cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

Dual VPN locations?

cphillips_utmg
Level 1
Level 1

I am a network engineer in a large medical practice. We have physicians that need access to two seperate network enviroments. Currently they have access to the universities resources using the Cisco IPsec Client. Is there a way to add security policy to the current client to allow the physicians to access our network if we adopt a Cisco VPN appliance? Our firewall is not Cisco.

12 Replies 12

thisisshanky
Level 11
Level 11

Are you trying to achieve redundancy, as far as (vpn to one location fails, add a backup site) ?

You can add a second connection in the ipsec client and have the doctors connect via that client, when they need to access your network. You cannot have two connections active at the same time.

Sankar Nair
UC Solutions Architect
Pacific Northwest | CDW
CCIE Collaboration #17135 Emeritus

jackko
Level 7
Level 7

assuming you are referring the physicians to have 2 vpn connections at the same time, it's not feasible as the vpn client software doesn't support more than 1 active vpn at a time.

however, depends on what sort of device you've got, you can configure "hub-spoke" vpn. i.e. the physicians establish a vpn to net1 and then accessing net2 via net1.

cphillips_utmg
Level 1
Level 1

The physcians and business managers work under two different organizations. The two vpns are totally isolated from each other. One is a university where they are involved in the academic enviroment the other is group private practice. What Cisco appliance do you see that I should lean towards, our firewall is a Juniper. Thanks in advance - I appreciate all answers.

you may get a pix to run lan-lan vpn to those two different locations.

ezvpn may not be feasible as one unit can't act as 2 different ezvpn clients.

cphillips_utmg
Level 1
Level 1