cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

Integrating VPN SPA on Router 7606 with FWSM on same chassis

teguh.wilidarma
Level 1
Level 1

Hi all, I encounter a problem in integrating VPN SPA on a Cisco 7606 Router with FWSM installed.

I have attached the logical diagram of existing configuration on 7606 and FWSM which I have little knowledge of.

The goal is : "whenever connection to WAN fails, the traffic destined to Palmerah internal network should go through Internet using VPN SPA"

I have simulated the VPN SPA in 6500 switch without FWSM using crypto connect method and it is working.

Now when implementing to production, we have several problems:

1. the 7606 is only single machine and downtime is strictly prohibited

2. the connection to Internet is crucial and any command applied to that interface should be reviewed throughly for it can interrupt production traffic.

3. link to ISP goes directly to the 7606, not through any physical Internet router or whatsoever.

4. the VPN SPA is expected to provide site to site and also remote access VPN.

5. One of the VPN peer on branch would be Cisco ASA.

I started thinking of moving Crypto connect method to VRF mode, but I would like to hear from you all if anyone have experience in configuring VPN SPA in VRF mode.

Hope any of you could help.

Thanks

Teguh

3 Replies 3

Marcin Latosiewicz
Cisco Employee
Cisco Employee

Teguh,

Have you received feedback from anyone already on this.

Going to crypto connect alternative is the way to go, however in itself it does require the engine to be reloaded.

When using crypto connect all traffic between crypto connected interfaces goes via VPN SPA, while in VRF mode (invluding CCA) traffic is being redirected to VPN SPA using TCAM programming.

There are many deployments in the world using very similar setup. ;-)

Possibilities/restrictions:

http://www.cisco.com/en/US/docs/interfaces_modules/shared_port_adapters/configuration/6500series/76ovwvpn.html#wp1089258

Marcin