Views
Helpful
Replies

Licensing, Upgrades and Service Contracts

wobblycogs
Level 1
Level 1

Hi,

I've just found myself thrown in at the deep end and tasked with setting up a VPN system so that our customers can get into our network to access various resources. The problem is I'm a software developer not a network admin and there's no money to pay a consultant so it's up to me to make it happen.

I've been presented with an ASA 5510 Security Plus which I've been playing with for a couple of days now. I've got a few bits configured such as SSH access, ADSM, routing between inside, DMZ and outside and some NAT/PAT forwarding. I'm currently working on setting up a basic VPN while reading the Richard Deal book.

Questions About Upgrading

I noticed this morning that there is a 8.4 version of the ASA software available. The box I have is running 8.2(5). Is it worth upgrading?

Assuming it is worth upgrading what do I need? I've been over to the Cisco download site and found what I think is the correct software but apparently I need a service contract to download it. Keeping in mind that I'll need to beg for every penny what service contract do I need and roughly how much will it cost (I'm in the UK)? It would probably help my cause if I could report a few other benefits to having a support contract as well.

Questions About VPN

My original plan was to give our customers access using AnyConnect. I'd read that all I needed was a (very reasonably priced) Essentials license and I was good to go. When I went to download what I think is the correct software though I find I need a service contract.

Is the above linked software what I need to use AnyConnect? If it is what service contract do I need?

Thanks for any help, I'm finding the licensing as complicated as the configuration!

1 Accepted Solution

Accepted Solutions

Marvin Rhoads
Hall of Fame
Hall of Fame

I would differ with Jennifer's advice on this one.