cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

Obtaining Cicso VPN Client

noctech73
Level 1
Level 1

I am an independent contractor in need of the Cisco VPN Client for both Windows and Mac. Last I recall (circa 2006) both of these were free and readily avaialble but apparently one must now be a Cisco Partner if I understand correctly.

I have no need to become a Cisco Partner but my customer needs me to log in remotely.

Any advice on how I can obtain these Clients?

Thanks,

Richard

24 Replies 24

Thanks Rick.

>Or another alternative would be to work from the GUI. on the ASA the GUI  is ASDM. If it is not the ASA then what device are you asking about?

It is the ASA-5505. I have the Cisco VPN Client and would like to work with a GUI which I now know is the ASDM. I thought perhaps one could, once connected via the Cisco VPN Client, administer the 5505 via HTTP or web browser if you will.

Sorry for any confusion! Your assistnace is greatly apprecaited.

Rich

Rich

Ok if it is the ASA that you want to administer then here are a couple points that may be helpful.

- make sure that the ASA is configured to use ASDM. there is a config command that points to the ASDM code file name.

- the ASA configuration specifies address ranges from which it will accept web based management connections. make sure that it is configured to accept your management connection attempt.

- ASDM is java based, and operates on TCP 443 (looks like HTTPS). There is an option to install it on your PC and an option to load and run it when you connect to the ASA.

- you can get ASDM from the ASA. use your browser and go to https:///admin

this should give you the options to install the applet or to load and run the applet.

HTH

Rick

HTH

Rick

Rick,

Absolutely outstanding, thank you very much!

Rich

Greetings,

It went very well today - was able to get into the Cisco ASA-5505 using ASDM and thanks for your help.