Views
Helpful
Replies

Setting up ASA 5505

kambodianboi
Level 1
Level 1

Hi guys,

Im kinda new to these type of system setup for small business. Im helping my dad out to set one up, but im not sure if im doing it correctly. The way I have it hooked up is like this.

T1 => Linksys E1000 (DMZed to ASA 5505) => ASA 5505 => Switch => (10 computers in the network)

So far, I did the basic setup on the ASA 5505, and its network is working fine, all the computers can access the internet. But where I am stuck at is, I am unable to ping the ASA 5505 externally (from the public IP), I already added ICMP echo-reply to the security policy.

Also, when I setup the VPN, it doesn't work, the client PC are unable to communicate with the ASA 5505. Seems like the router DMZ isn't working.

Do I need a different router? Or do I need to configure some items on the ASA 5505?

Any help would be appreciated!

13 Replies 13

Marcin Latosiewicz
Cisco Employee
Cisco Employee

Jarrod,

ASA has a great packet capturing apability:

"Create a new capture filter."

http://www.cisco.com/en/US/products/ps6120/products_tech_note09186a00807c35e7.shtml

You can capture traffic going to it etc.

In case of VPN you need to capture all traffic on UDP/500 going to ASA's outside interface:

access-list CAPT perm udp any h IP_ADDRESS eq 500

access-l CAPT perm udp h IP_ADDRESS eq 500 any

capture CAPOUT interface outside access-list CAPT

Just subsitute the IP_ADDR and maybe interface name.

If you mean that you cannot ping from "inside" network your ASA's "outside" IP address - it's expected and a known limiation.

What you're seeing might be due to the way Linksys implments "dmz".

Marcin

Thanks Marcin for replying,

I will give it a try and see what traffic the ASA is getting.