cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

VPN Sign in

david_c_reed
Level 1
Level 1

Ok, I thought that I had setup everything I would need for a user to access my network behind a PIX 515e but I guess not.

I basically gave inside and outside ports ip adds on their respective subnets. Created some ACL's applied these to a group and gave a user access to this group. Thats it.

I then pointed the VPN client towards the outside IP and it looks likes its about to connect but then I get a reason 412 error "remote peer no longer responding" I have seen some posts about a port 500 not being open but have no idea how to do this, I am still really new at all of this.

Any help would be appreciated.

5 Replies 5

nathancielieska
Level 1
Level 1

David,

Unfortunately there is a lot more too it.

I cannot find a good doc as well.. you need to add the following

** Indentify your transform set and Remote Access parameters

crypto ipsec transform-set myset esp-3des esp-md5-hmac

crypto dynamic-map dynmap 10 set transform-set myset

crypto map mymap 10 ipsec-isakmp dynamic dynmap

crypto map mymap interface outside

** enable an isakmp policy

isakmp enable outside

isakmp policy 10 authentication pre

isakmp policy 10 encryption 3des

isakmp policy 10 hash md5

isakmp policy 10 group 2

isakmp policy 10 lifetime 86400

** ip address given to your clients

ip local pool vpnpool 10.0.0.10-10.0.0.100

** you dont want to NAT connectivity to your remote clients

access-list 120 permit ip 10.1.1.0 255.255.255.0 10.0.0.0 255.255.255.0

nat (inside) 0 access-list 120

** actual parameters to type into your client

vpngroup vpncert address-pool vpnpool

vpngroup vpncert idle-time 1800

vpngroup vpncert password letmein

** In your Client

Group name : vpncert

password : letmein

This will get you 90% if not 100%..

Also putting in

sysopt connection permit-vpn or sysopt connection permit-ipsec

This will allow you to not worry about Access lists botching up your vpn

Nathan,