Cisco Support Community
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Watchchild Client over RA VPN "Lost Client-Server Communication"

I recently began a job as a network administrator.  Before this job I was worked with Cisco UC.  I have very little experience with the Cisco ASA and I am hitting a wall. 

We have a system named Watchchild, that connects to some medical monitoring equipment.  With a client installed on a Windows workstation one can connect to the Watchchild server and view some medical graphs. 

The Watchchild system resides within out LAN/Datacenter and clients within the same LAN can communicate with the Watchchild server without interruption.  We also have a remote site that is connection via a remote-access IPSec VPN tunnel.  The clients connect using this VPN tunnel lose communication with the Watchchild server intermittently.  The amount of time various.  I would guess between 1 and 5 minutes.  This happens more often if both remote access clients are connected at the same time. 

When the remote access clients lose communication they see a "lost client-server communication" error.  The ASDM monitoring feature shows that the tunnel is still up and the TX and RX packet counters increment with time.  You can click retry within the client to clear the error and begin viewing the graphs again.  The ASA debugs don't show any unusual errors, for example packets begin dropped.  I don't have any type of ACL or filter applied to this profile, so I wouldn't expect it to be restricting certain ports or networks.